The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

The Greatest Rapper of All Time…

on January 2, 2009

“…..died on March 9th” -Canibus.

okay so I’m not really here to debate whether or not Biggie was the greatest. that does not matter to me.  all I know is Biggie is in my top 5, okay top 3, okay he’s my second favorite, next to Jay Z.  greatest of all time matters to me the least…all I know is that’s my boy.

so on a message board we are discussing the movie and folks throwing shade. saying my dude doesn’t deserve a feature film. ok, so maybe not. I know he didn’t live that long, but he’s only been dead a little over 10 years and his career was VERY short lived. so  his life and music…..maybe not feature film material.  but I was just discussing this with my homeboy–another Biggie fan, and he reminded me that 50 has a movie, Eminem has a movie, and these folks still living! let my boy have his movie?! Of course its not gonna be like a story of Johnny Cash, or Ray Charles,  Tina Turner, and the like…but this is my hood hero! well not really, but you know what i’m saying–for cats in Brooklyn,  and NYC in general he very well can be and is, a musical god of sorts. the 90’s is my favorite era of hip hop, bad boy in the 90’s was a beast, and Biggie was leading the charge. so yes, I love me some BIG.

people like to throw out the name of another controversial rapper, from the west coast comparing the situations. I’m not gonna do that. I respect dude, I liked some of his work–but I don’t consider myself a stan, or even a fan like that. point blank period.  I just was not moved in that way….sorry. I think he was an extremely complex individual, good actor, intelligent and very charismatic, but that’s where it ends for me. I actually think his “personality” and the way he lived is why he gets so much hype, not necessarily his lyrical skills. if that somehow lessens my hip hop credibility in anyone’s eyes–sit on it and spin cuz I don’t care what you think. he’s not my dude. Biggie is my dude and from this moment on I won’t even stoop to the level of others comparing the two and I’ll just end it here. this post is about Big and the upcoming movie NOTORIOUS, which I will be attending. Not on opening night since I don’t do a lot of black folks in the theaters or movies  period right when they come out unless its a sunday matinee. so we will see–I still have yet to see 7 Pounds or Benjamin Button and I gotta see those too. *random fact about me* I am a movie buff, I swear I shouldve went to film school, maybe one day. I gotta atleast write a screen play, or a novel- I tell you there is a story inside of me.

anyway back to the hip hop. one of my favorite songs by BIG is Me and My Bitch. now some people may be offended by the song, or the term bitch, but I am not. bitch is one of my favorite words, no really. so from the moment I heard this song for the first time I just knew “I want somebody to have love for me like that”. now mind you now I’m older and less “hoodrich” but some things just remain in your heart, lol. and yes, this song is a real display of affection, and tragedy. I absolutely love it.

some lyrics:

A real bitch is all I want, all I ever had
With a glock just as strong as me
Totin guns just as long as me, the bitch belongs with me
Any plans with another bitch, my bitch’ll spoil it
One day, she used my toothbrush to clean the toilet
Throwin my clothes out the windows, so when the wind blows
I see my Polos and Timbos
Hide my car keys so I can’t leave
A real slick bitch, keep a trick up her sleeve
And if I deceive, she won’t take it lightly
She’ll invite me, politely, to fight G
And then we lie together, cry together
I swear to God I hope we fuckin die together

now tell me that’s not love. okay so I don’t bag up nickles or tote guns, but I dig the song and I always have. reminds me of other hood love songs I like such as Renee’ by Lost Boyz (blog link is named by another fave LB song!) and All I Need by Meth and Mary–which samples this song, by the way.  So yes, Reece is a sucker for some hood shit, 55% of the time–only when it comes to music. I’ll save the toting guns and whatnot for the real people in the streets.

the version attached is one of my favorites, Live from The Show Soundtrack, with that sick Computer Love beat! check it out….

so to end this post…..I can’t wait to see the film, seems like it will be pretty good. and I hope all the true fans go support.


One response to “The Greatest Rapper of All Time…

  1. P. says:

    2Pac >>> Jay-Z… end of debate. Next Reecie. lol

Leave a Reply

