The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Give Me You…..

on February 2, 2009

so today I went to whataburger for lunch—crushed my joint! and  while I was rolling around they played some old school Brandy. Baby was the song played . I used to LOVE that song. peep the video. I loooooved this video!

so anyway I got to thinking about my favorite Brandy songs, well you know from that first CD. Best Friend was another favorite and of  course Brokenhearted, I Wanna Be Down, but this one song, the blog title track is my favorite song by her.

now MJB has a song with the same title that I LOVE…but this Brandy song? man this song makes me call on the Lawd! now of course I’m a sinner, and I can admit I don’t listen to much gospel. I have a gospel playlist on my iPod, but its older stuff. somebody put me on to some new gospel!!!! I was listening to the radio yesterday and they play gospel on sunday mornings, I heard some tight joints with a more urban production. Like this one by Coko that samples some song…its on the tip of my tongue.

anyway back to Give Me You. this is a secular song with a holy ghost message. ever so often the R&B artists that grew up praising that Lord and singing in church like to make a holy ghost song….well this one is one of my favorites. Let’s revisit:

Is there a problem that you can’t solve oh
your all alone and no one wants to get involved oh yea
but I have a friend oh you know I do
he’ll always be around
and he’ll never leave you yea
he will never let you down

Chorus:
All he said he wants from you
All he said you have to do
Give me you

(All you have to do is…)

All he said he wants from you
All he said you have to do
Give me you

You’ll always say yes love is such a heavy burden
You need someone in your life
Who will give more love than hurting
He will never forsake you
He will all ways be around (be around)
And he’ll never leave you no he won’t
He’ll never let you down
Chorus x2
You can call him in the morning (call, call him in the morning)
You can call him in the noon day (call him in the noon day)
You can call him in the evening

Give me you
You can call him in the morning
You can call him in the noon day
you can call him in the evening
Give me you

Give me you
Give me you
Give me you

the bolded are “my parts” when she says that  “but I have a friend…” it just makes ya wanna say ‘ayman!’

and then that breakdown? whew! if you aint’ know Reecie luvs da Lawd now ya know.

I’m finna put my song on repeat. Love that jam. I’m serious about some gospel recommendations too. hit me up for some good stuff. I need to be put on. Continuing my spiritual growth in the 09…….and music is def part of the ministry!

I dedicate this song today to my good friend T. She knows this is “our” song! love you boo.


Leave a Reply

