The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Money Don’t Matter 2 Night…

on March 26, 2009

I woke up with this song in my head. plugged in the iPod at my desk and realized that its not on there! so I’m jamming on songza….I had to hear it. I usually don’t blog early in the morning but I’m sure this song was in my head for a reason.

 

Money don’t matter 2night
It sure didn’t matter yesterday
Just when U think U’ve got more than enough
That’s when it all up and flies away
That’s when U find out that U’re better off
Makin’ sure your soul’s alright
Cuz money didn’t matter yesterday
And it sure don’t matter 2night

Its Prince so I doubt I’ll be able to find any audio to link on the web. You know my dude is sensitive about his shit! LOL

After a crazy week of painful headaches that have just started to subdue (Praise the Lord Almighty), Ive been asked over and over again am I stressed. the answer is always no. I think I live a good life and despite serious things I want to change. I think its pretty good, could always be worse! I’m not living paycheck to paycheck and I’m not really worried about money. I remember I time I did though. Not because I was poor, but because I was a compulsive shopper, and would run my little paycheck in the ground, and then when something came up I had to pay for, I cried broke, begged my mama to give me some funds, and went on my merry way. rinse and repeat. Because she loved me she would give me the money, even though I was grown (over 21) and shouldve known better…..I wasn’t making minimum wage with a rack of bills. I had to pay a cell phone bill, car payment and car insurance. that’s it.  When I was a grad student making peanuts, I was still blowing it all on going out to eat with the girls, shoes from Nordstrom, and designer jeans.

I’m so glad I’m more fiscally responsible now. but I still love to shop. I don’t shop with credit anymore–haven’t since about 05–the year I got a real job, paid off and closed my many credit cards and started to act like an adult.

I try to live by “its just money, you can’t take it with you” and I still feel like that most of the time. I like nice things, but I like peace of mind more. so like the lyrics say, I’m more concerned with making sure my soul’s alright. its a wavering process, but I think I got it down….


3 responses to “Money Don’t Matter 2 Night…

  1. NinaMM says:

    “I like nice things, but I like peace of mind more.”

    Great thought.

  2. streetz says:

    As long as you treat yourself responsibly, ull be str8 boo!

  3. […] you when you’re dead”…say that John! I posted a couple months ago about money, being a responsible adult, yadda […]

Leave a Reply

