The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Rain Rain Go Away….

on April 2, 2009

Not toooo much, but I’m sick of it….its been raining for days!

first off, I like rain every now and then, but its getting to be too much. too much gray, too much gloom!

but some of my favorite songs are about rain. Why is it that rain always induces thoughts of sadness. Hmmm. and sunshine  always full of joy? I wonder. could be because the sun projects heat…and heat is happy. rain and wetness can make you cold…..therefore unhappy.

now rain makes me want to stay under the covers, snuggle with my boo…..find creative things to do to have fun or just lay around and watch tv.

but as far as the music….here we go!

1. The sorrow:

“waking every morning knowing you’re not there….is the only thing that gets me scared”

“Everyday it Rains” is one of my favorite songs from The Show Soundtrack. it has never lost rotation in my mix. but then again I love me some MJB.

“I don’t know when you’re coming home, but I’ll be waiting with open arms”. my girl used to be about some desperation didn’t she?

2. The sorrow pt. 2:

“Once the rain starts falling on my face, then you won’t to see, a single trace. Right now I think I’m cryin’, because of you I’m dying. Don’t want you to see me cry, let me go, let me go, let me go…..I just want to go outside iiiiiiiiiiin the rain”

another movie soundtrack. one of my favorite movies even. Love Jones I could watch everyday, I know all the words and quote them often. I’m also a big Xscape fan. In the Rain was a banger, good cover. Loved their harmony. This song is all Tiny and Kandi.

3. The abuse:

“I’m lookin’ in the mirror at this woman down and out, she’s internally dyin’, I know this was not what love’s about”


I.love.this.song. and video. First off I am not the biggest Ashanti fan, but I loved this song. could be immediately the Hov beat (I know Isaac Hayes did the original)….but I like the video too. I mean, not what’s going on, but the visual story telling. and Larenz is my dude. even when he’s playing a cray cray. Gosh they had some sexy scenes in this joint. hmmmm.

4. The make up

“I’m so sorry baby, you know that I want you baby, I hurt you once again, but open up and let me in.
I’m soaking wet darling, I know you here me calling, Ooh, I really wanna make sweet love to you.”

In an earlier post on this blog I discussed my absolute adoration of Total. One of my favorites from Kima, Keisha & Pam, is simply titled “Rain”.

5. The test:

“On a perfect day, I know that I can count on you. When thats not possible, Tell me, can you weather the storm… cause I need somebody who will stand by me…”

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I mean there really isn’t anything else to say. I could post all the lyrics because they are that great. But this is a New Edition classic. and when Ricky Bell comes in ” I know I know all the days won’t be perfect…” *sigh* I mean it doesn’t get any better than Johnny, Ralph and Ricky.  I love love love them. great 90s music. then the end “come baby…lets go get wet”. LMAO.  cheesy but it works.

6. The feel good:

“I don’t mind if it rains for ever…let it rain, let it rain…”

Finally a happy go lucky song about rain. Carl Thomas didn’t make another great song after Summer Rain. He really did not.

“baby won’t you be my summer rain…..go ahead and make it rain, you bring the sunshine back again”

There are more songs, I mean of course Purple Rain, but that’s too obvious. is that song even about rain? LOL.  These are my favorites. Some others I like but not faves are Love Rain by Jilly and Mos, and Rain by SWV. and one I really really love but wasn’t feeling today for some reason is Right as Rain by Adele. That’s actually one of my favorite songs on her CD.

and I’ll close out with a song that isn’t sad, and isn’t about love. I really don’t know what its about!  From  my VA homegirl. This song came out and was an instant hit!

Vodpod videos no longer available.


5 responses to “Rain Rain Go Away….

  1. Streetz says:

    Summer Rain was my ISH! Carl Thomas is talented, but I’m hard pressed to find another Carl banga! lol

  2. NinaMM says:

    That Ashanti “Rain on Me” was so classic, it’s ridiculous. The video was perfect, and Larenz was decidedly delicious, even as an abusive jerk. He could rain on me…anytime!

  3. […] its a heat wave!!!! I remember I blogged about the rain once, but now I’m here to talk about the […]

  4. […] soundtrack is on point–one of my favorite Xscape songs is on there, which I highlighted in my Rain Rain  Go Away  post a few months […]

  5. […] in almost every song–well except this one. I featured another favorite song by her in my Rain Rain Go Away post last year (its pretty easy to guess which song that is.) But she’s had a few other […]

Leave a Reply

