The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Sunday Chill….Stay Cool…

on April 12, 2009

stay cool……ya’ll know the rules….

Bass for your face, highs for your eyes
Don’t blink, Black Ink has arrived, all rise
Rudebwoys keep dem thing at your side, be alright
Muh’fuckers Philly we up in here, we all live
I’m puffin this Cohiba mami coolin her heels
All she ever seem to do is play it cool f’real
She be pushin, pop vessel, and her shoes is ill
But her hand, keep slippin on the woodgrain wheel
But it’s cool, we never slippin when there’s moves to make
Especially when what we talkin ain’t ya usual cake
I pump bass for y’all bathin apes, to get charged
Nah, I’m not a dealer, I’m a poet at large
We in the wind with the roof back, lettin the breeze hit us
The bathrobe on with sweatpants and slippers
Comin to pay a visit to whoever on the hitlist
Some of y’all been tryin for years, you’ll never get this fool…

Hip-Hop my main bitch, I got a few on the side
The game stitched y’all I’m doin my job
Go up against enormous odds
Wouldn’t break a sweat, money make her bet
Funny son you threat, well I ain’t shakin yet
Twenty-fo’/sev’ chillin, tougher than penicillin
From the block where the crooked cops killin like a villain
Children, in the hood gettin rocked by they buildings
And brothers, ‘cross the board gettin knocked by the millions
The stress, got me ignitin the potent marijuana leaf
Tryin to play it cooler than a polar bear colony
You feel the music know I’m over there probably
Pimpin on the same system that forever shorted me
I got the soul of a young Sam Cooke when I spit
It make you wanna make a new dance up
It’s all to the good shorty ‘gwan do that stuff
It’s not another sound system rockin steady as us
And it’s cool


stay cool….stay cool… stay cool…

stay cool, mu’fuckas ya’ll know the rules…..

that music is soooooo cool, so chill!

The Roots is my favorite group, and Black Thought one of my favorite emcees. While their music isn’t technically sunday appropriate for some, Stay Cool is just so cool to me. and fits in for me on my sunday chill.

I have seen them live a couple times and would go again and again. the show NEVER gets boring, and they always do awesome covers from all genres  in addition to their own material.

they are sooooo cool.

check em out if you haven’t. I heard they are coming out with a new CD this summer too! can’t wait!

another one of my favorites. real cool real chill. this one is  sunday sexy…..

click on the link to take you to the site to see the video…..featuring one of my favorite characters from The Wire….Weebay.


One response to “Sunday Chill….Stay Cool…

  1. […] emcees. I’ve talked about The Roots in several random posts here and there, including this one featuring one of my favorite songs by them Stay […]

Leave a Reply

