The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

I Can’t Help It

on June 28, 2009

^^That’s the Michael I remember as a young one.

so of course for the past 3 days I have been listening to Michael Jackson nonstop–well taking a few breaks. I have spent money buying cd’s, digital downloads of individual tracks I forgot all about on iTunes, and dvds on Amazon. for these past few days, Michael’s music has surpassed the top music sold on both iTunes and Amazon. His albums are now the top albums. I’m pretty sure they shouldve always been, but of course we get caught up in whats going on right now, and forget about the goodies of the past. MOST, of the time that is.

I pretty much use this blog to talk about songs that I come across, being that I listen to music pretty much all day long every day. Songs that reflect my mood, songs that make me smile, make me cry, just make me feel. Music has an important place in my life, and therefore the as a true 80’s baby (born in 81) I of course grew up listening to Michael Jackson.

I don’t like to do what everyone else is doing, and I really really never try to be a copy cat. Some people have written letters to Mike, some had highlighted all of his albums, citing their favorite songs on each. some have done other things in tribute.

my Human Nature post was about me, not him. I listen to that song often, but that day, I NEEDED it. I needed it as much as I needed to shed the tears I shed. I needed to be reminded of something I already knew. So yeah, that post was totally for me. Because I am a lover of music, and a lover of Michael Jackson–here is my MJ post. Why do it? well, I just “can’t help it”. I just have to.

(shout out to alllllll my facebook friends that posted youtube links and really just rocked and rolled all thursday night–reminding me of good music I hadn’t heard in awhile).

some songs that I came across these couple of days (most not the usual MJ songs I typically listen to) that just fill me with SOMETHING, are below:

Got To Be here: this one made me another bucket of tears. Can’t even really explain why.This acapella version has just done it all over again.

Ben: I teared up yesterday (while driving no less!) because of the words “I used to say I and Me, now its us, now its we”. I wished I had a friend like Ben! no seriously. it made me think of my childhood pets, my white American eskimo Toto, and my yellow lab Snoopy. I miss them.

Off The Wall: because I  really exemplify leaving the 9 to 5 up on the shelf. when I’m out, I’m out!!!

In the Closet: I don’t know HOW I forgot about this song, but the video? super sexy. Naomi better work! that’s why she’s one of the baddest. This song required a repeat. I love it.

I Wanna Be Where You Are: can I just say this is my jam? I swear I played it like 5 times in a row. Young Michael shuts like everybody currently out singing right now DOWN. I’m listening to these lyrics and I swear this little boy don’t know nothing about what he’s singing about. But damn if it doesn’t sound soooooo good.

The Way You Make Me Feel: has always been one of my favorites by him. I remember when I was a little girl I liked this vid and song.

PYT: cuz I am 😉 and this has always been one of my theme songs….

Now you all know I don’t really do Bey, I dig her music and I think she’s amazingly talented, but stan I am not. However I saw this video the other day on Necole Bitchie and teared up. I felt her emotion, and well….here it go. I would’ve loved to been there for that.


4 responses to “I Can’t Help It

  1. Sleaze says:

    o yea..u picked the “PREMIERE” Mike trax. “PYT”, “Off The Wall”, and “Rock With You” are my all time faves.

    and “They Don’t Give A Fuck About Us”

    cool post sans Beyonce.

  2. […] like the words. you all know I love Michael with my whole heart (I’m being serious here) and his music is HUGE on the life soundtrack, but I don’t think I’m going to see this movie. I mean, I’m sad just thinking […]

  3. […] on this #freakyfriday I had to feature the greatest! the King of Pop. As we  (well I) continue to mourn the loss of one of the best to EVER do it, I revist the post I wrote after his passing here. […]

Leave a Reply

