The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Too Hot To Handle…

on August 12, 2009

so my inspiration today is the movie Love Jones.

I watched this movie over the weekend, because I was in a pretty crappy mood and the story just seems to lift my spirits kinda. its not the perfect cookie cutter happy ending, there are tons of tribulations along the way, but…its a great story.

those that know me know, I can quote Love Jones all day. one of my favorite scenes, at the end:

Nina Mosley: You always want what you want when you want it. Why is everything so urgent with you?
Darius Lovehall: Let me tell you somethin’. This here, right now, at this very moment, is all that matters to me. I love you. That’s urgent like a motherfucker.

“urgent like a motherfucker”. that explains a lot of  how I view things my life. LOL.

anyways, the soundtrack is on point–one of my favorite Xscape songs is on there, which I highlighted in my Rain Rain Go Away  post a few months ago.

but another favorite scene is when Nina decides after a nice date, she wants Darius to sleep downstairs because she wants to ‘feel like I’m saving something for later’. of course then Darius says ‘well, I’ll have mine right now!’ LMAO.

So scene: she’s upstairs with a pillow between her legs…crucial. here a few songs that remind of THAT feeling. you know….that hot burning (no VD) desire between the legs  feeling…..some of these are from my “sexy” playlist–you know you have one. LOL

Soon I’ll be Loving You Again– Marvin Gaye: my man Hov sampled this in American Dreamin….which is not a sexy song at all, but still back to the lust….

Seconds of Pleasure– Van Hunt: before he even opens his mouth, the guitar has me…

Crown Royal -Jill Scott (this is what inspired my post. not a song but just long enough to do the job. “and youre so thick, and  youre so thick” have mercy!)

Virgin– Chico DeBarge “just for the taste of it, I’d give my whole life shortie..”

All My Love -112: I don’t know why I havent blogged about the greatness that is 112 but….this song?  first of all 112 have TWO songs with this title, but this is the second one, released on that lackluster Hot & Wet CD. the true gem on that joint.

Ask Yourself -Raheem DeVaughn: cannot go without a Raheem song. I loves him, as you already know. so many to choose from, but this one works for me today….

and last but not least. I know a lot of people have strong feelings about Robert Kelly but….I only speak on the music. the music has sucked in recent years, but give me 90’s Kells any day of the week! his music does it for me, and I won’t apologize for that… here’s one of my faves, not one of the more obvious ones either, check it out:

 

so this is just a quick bit of songs that make me hot. LOL. so I’m sippin on my daily h2o with my legs crossed. all day. 🙂


7 responses to “Too Hot To Handle…

  1. Crooky says:

    You, my dear, are hilarious.

    But after thinking about the person who has “Crown Royal” as his ringer on my phone…

    *legs tightly crossed*

    You know, Javier just popped into my mind as I was reading this. I might need to put him back on….he’s done some nice tracks.

  2. Crooky says:

    One more thing…

    I wish that the 90s Kels would return. I was listening to the CD that you mentioned about and realized how TIGHT it was. It completely stomps all over this “Trapped in the Closet/Hairbraider” mess he was going through over the past 3 years.

    With Raheem, ” Mo Better” is the track, with “Desire” and “Marathon” closely following.

  3. Reecie says:

    yes Crooky! and about Raheem. I can’t even get started on the second cd. my favorite on the first one is You (which I’m listening to right now) but I tried to go with one I don’t roll with that much. but yes all of those you named do it.

    I also thought of mentioning our jam from Jamie Foxx–Slow! girrrrlllll.

  4. MilanRouge says:

    Man this movie is the TRUTH! I have to be in the right frame of mind to watch it though because sometimes it can “take you there” ya know? Yeah….

    So you hit a few of my jams in your list (Chico Debarge’s ‘Virgin’…man…back when I was actually a virgin if some dude had sang that to me…some fine dude…panties gone…immediately. LOL). Anyway, I digress…one of my all-time favorite get down jams is ‘Do Me Baby’ by Prince….”Here we are…in this big ole empty room…staring eachother down…” Uhh…gets it CRACKIN!

    Again on the TP2.com cd…The Greatest Sex…umm yeah.

    I need to go home and look at my playlist for some others. LOL

    Where’s my water…i’m all…bothered now. LOL! 😉

  5. Streetz says:

    Im convinced you are a digital and sonical Voyeur..lmao

    Love Jones was the baseline “come over to my dorm room and chill” movie. That scene where shorty had th pillow between the legs? Yea I would’ve just went home.. thats another level of teasin!

    Great post twinnn! 🙂

  6. Felicia says:

    wheeewwwwwwwww

    the Jill Scott song…makes me grind humming it in my head….Crown Royal-alized…..

  7. Tisha says:

    Man, look. Crown Royal is THAT.DEAL. I be singin’ it and modifying it, like “you grab my LOCS arch my back high for ya…” LMBO! I clare ‘fore goodness I thought she was sayin’ “and you’re so big…and you’re so thick…” Dah well. Any combination of that is good! LOL.

    You already know about Raheem and Garden of Love. I love it all, but that instrumental flow at the end is cut-inducing. #justsayin’

    More recent, Zo’s “Make Luv 2 Me” will cause exactly that to happen. “With intention and purpose.” What?! Yeah. As will Janet’s “Would You Mind (less recent).”

    So….yeah.

    I’ll be refocusing my thinking now. LOL

Leave a Reply

