The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Where the players dwell…

on August 24, 2009

its room 112 of course.

I mentioned last week how its strange that I never managed to post about 112. Strange considering I.LOVE.THEM. well, I did. as a 80s baby and 90s teen, they of course came out at the PERFECT time.

112 is one group that I can say has mastered the “i wish your interlude was an entire song”. examples are here, and here, and here. “its all about you, sexy you, its all about you my baby, only you..” whew lawd that one! but then again the self titled 112 CD knocks from beginning to end.

112 still one of the best CDs to come out in 1996, one of the best guy group solo CDs PERIOD, to me. This is one of my classic road trip CDs. I can put it in and sing it all the way…Their second CD Room 112 is also a favorite, I actually love the first 3 joints. after Part III is when things get shaky. Hot & Wet had some nice songs, and Pleasure & Pain was just a damn let down. how can you name an entire cd of such an EXCELLENT song, then it suck? jeez, what a fucking let down! I had to use the F word to appropriately describe how disappointed I was. seriously.

ok so here are some of my one-tweezie bangers, I’m listening to them as I type this.

in no particular order:

okay, well I’m lying this one is first because it is the best damn 112 song there is: Cupid

Funny Feelings -one of my favorites from Room 112. this is a sad ass song. I listened to this the other day, and teared up. true story. don’t judge me. this is a true, “we’re about to break up” song.

Pleasure & Pain– just because I mentioned it earlier. like, there’s nothing else to say. great song.

“why do you make me feel this way, feeling betrayed, being pushed away?” this was on my breakup playlist back in the day….

I Can’t Believe -featuring Faith. I also LOOOOOVE Faith! well, I love all late 90s bad boy artists so….yet another sad song.  but I love their voices on this.

Sweet Love– I think when Part III came out I used to play this one over and over….this is on my sexy playlist. mmhmm.

Come See Me -featuring Mr. Cheeks. oh, how I love him. how about I just found a remix for this on youtube with Black Rob, and the Akinyele beat?! how come I have never heard this song in my life before now!?

Its Over Now–I remember this video, it was when Daron grew his hair out and I was thinking, damn! when did he get cute? and they were getting their New Edition on– dancing their asses off wearing one of my favorite pair of J’s (I know random). the remix with G-Dep and Shyne was a banger too. Diddy throws away more rappers I swear! LOL.

This is your day– this song reminds me of my good friend Tashie. this was her song.

Now That We’re Done– ok. I have to add this to my sexy playlist. I don’t know how I forgot this one…

I’ll end this on a more upbeat note, this video features my Bad Boy superfriends, the conglomerate of 90s greatness. you all know which one…..

the Vanson jackets? the times square shot? BIG? M-A-dolla sign-E? come on yall…..this was greatness. when I tell yall I fell in love with MA$E watching this video. I still know his entire verse. aw, to be a teenager…

I thought I told you that we won’t stop….


8 responses to “Where the players dwell…

  1. Jubilance says:

    The 1st & 2nd 112 albums were in constant rotation in my CD player when I was in high school. I still have some very special memories attached to the 2st 112 album.

    I still owe you a sexy playlist too! I’mma get on that stat!

  2. Ms. Minx says:

    Look. Sweet Love?…maaaaaannn, that song?
    *pause*
    Yeah.
    I had to take a moment, lol…

    “Its Over Now”, The “I Surrender All” Interlude, and “All I Want Is You’ were favorites as well. They’d be on almost every mixed CD I made, lol.

    I actually didn’t really start really liking 112 till some boy bought me Part III, lol.

    I’ma see if I can download some of the songs you mentioned, cuz apart from the singles, I really haven’t heard the other songs.
    (Kinda) New Music ftw :o)

  3. Crooky says:

    Get out of my head Reecie! I was just bumpin’ 112 on the way to my appointment. Their first CD was the TRUTH.COM and still knocks to this day.

    Now when “It’s Over Now” came out, I was checking Daron. He did indeed get FIONE between albums 2 and 3. Goodness gracious! Oh yeah, the highlight of the third CD – “Q, Mike, Slim, Daron”. *clutches pearls*

    Great post, although I have to say that 112 ties with Blackstreet for “Hottest CD of ’96”. Anotha Level was a banger!

  4. MilanRouge says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE 112! Coldest joint….’Your Letter’ from Room 112. That one just HURTS. lol! Great post…

  5. streetz says:

    Cupid is the deal closer. I need to reup on the 112 boys fa reel!

    Good one twin!

  6. Erika says:

    “Sweet Love” was -that song- for a GOOD minute, LOL.

    I didn’t see you mention ’em, but “Why” and “Why Does” are favorites of mine, too. I like painfully slow songs like that.

  7. […] I have written about my total adoration of 112 before, I won’t repeat but you can read it here if you missed it. I will instead feature some of my favorite dance tracks. When I heard this song I […]

  8. Soula Powa says:

    The 112 is my favorite male group period. I love (I guess I should say loved) everything about their style. Expect for the Hot and Wet album, which I don’t believe ever happened, every CD had several hits. I think the 5 hottest songs were the Only You Remix, Come See Me, My Mistakes, It’s Over Now, and Sweet Love. Thanks for taking me back for a second.

Leave a Reply

