The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Is it a crime…

on August 30, 2009

that I want you…and I want you to want me too?

I think I may have a problem with posting about sad songs all the time. lol. This is my absolute favorite Sade song though. I grew up hearing Sade, but I didn’t really become a fan until I was in high school I think. I got the Best of Sade CD through my Columbia House subscription and I would play this song over and over. I’d play the entire CD, like Smooth Operator, Pearls (another favorite), Your Love is King, and No Ordinary Love. Sade is the queen of mellow music. I still love that Best of cd……I heard earlier this year that she’s releasing a new cd in October….

This may come, This may come as some surprise
but I miss you
I can see through all of your lies
but still I miss you
he takes her love, but it doesn’t feel like mine
he tastes her kiss, her kisses are not wine, they are not mine

 

he takes, but surely she can’t give what I’m feeling now
she takes, but surely she doesn’t know how

Is it a crime
Is it a crime
that I still want you
and I want you to want me too

My love is wider, wider than Victoria Lake
My love is taller, taller than the empire state

It dives and it jumps and it ripples like the deepest ocean
I can’t give you more than that, surely you want me back

Is it a crime
Is it a crime
that I still want you
and I want you to want me too

My love is wider than Victoria Lake
Taller than the empire state

It dives and it jumps
I can’t give you more than that, surely you want me back

Is it a crime
Is it a crime
that I still want you
and that I want you to want me too

It dives and it jumps and it ripples like the deepest ocean
I can’t give you more than that, surely you want it back.

Tell me, is it a crime?

I just read earlier this year that Sade is Nigerian, her entire name is Helen Folasade Adu. Folasade means love confers your crown. “Is it a Crime” was the first single on her 1985 album Promise. Its hard to believe this song is 24 years old. actually it isn’t. good music transcends… if you click the links you’ll see that Sade’s videos actually told stories, they were like mini movies. not overly dramatic, but very subtle and it suits the music. These days videos are trash; they either have nothing to do with the song or they are just ridiculous for no reason.


5 responses to “Is it a crime…

  1. MilanRouge says:

    I love Sade. I just tweeted to you about Lover’s Rock because that’s my cd. Usually when older artists come back out with some “new” stuff it’s a let down but Lover’s Rock was the TRUTH. And definitely not a disappointment to Sade lovers. I grew up on her because my parents used to play her all the time when I was little. Definitely have fond memories of my childhood from her songs.

  2. Ms. Minx says:

    Co-signing on the last part of Milan’s post:
    I remember being glued to the screen anytime a Sade video came on. I didn’t really understand what she was saying, as a kid, but I still paid attention :o) cause I just knew it meant something, lol.

    As you already said, good music transcends time, but I think she really needs to go ahead and come out with a new CD sometime soon.

    OMG, I remember when I (thought I) was in love one time, and would hum “No Ordinary Love” like crazy, lol! Good times…:p

  3. Cryssy says:

    This song right here is the ultimate song.. her lyrics are soo powerful song – who has not felt this way about an ex? geesh

  4. Erika says:

    Oh, my stars… I think there are very few artists who can actually perform music that allows a woman to be sensual, feminine, and sexually attractive without being overt…. while at the same time bringing out those exact same qualities in their listeners. Every man I’ve ever known who’s listened to Sade with an SO has commented on that – the vibe that she creates. There’s just something about her that is rare and sorely missed in the game today… life period, really.

    And sure enough, “Is It A Crime” and “Cherish The Day” are my two favoritest of favorites. Hands down!

    Good post, Reecie!

  5. LisaLisa1908 says:

    You KNOW I’m a huge Sade Stan, so I could totally identify with this whole post. I bought the Promise album (yes album) at the ripe age of 11 back in ’85 and wore it OUT. Sade is absolutely transcendent; if you EVER get to see her in concert, GO. She sounds even BETTER live. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

