The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

I’m disappointed…

on September 2, 2009

so I posted awhile ago I was looking forward to hearing a few releases.

Now that I’ve heard them I must say…I’m pretty disappointed.

Ready, its ok….right now it’s seeking the whip approval, just put it in the car this morning and Neighbors Know My Name kinda knocked, but dare I say I like the lyrics but not the way Trey sings on the song….other people have been saying for awhile that Trey can’t really sing, and I never really agreed with that but…yeah. anyway definitely liked Trey Day better. I feel it had a better mix of subjects and types of songs….we’ll see if it passes approval.

BP3….*sigh* I don’t even have the words. Still trying to get into it, only because I love Hov. anybody else it would be deleted off the hard drive. and, I’m going to buy my copy on Sept. 11.

Turn Me Loose….I really like Ledisi, but I’on know… something about this one just aint right. I loooooove her voice though, so at least she sounds good singing whatever it is that she’s singing. I like a few of the tracks.

and the most anticipated release of the year….more than Jay….Whitney Houston’s I Look To You. I’m glad my girl Whit Whit is back, looking better than ever. But I didn’t have high hopes for her pipes, and I’m glad I didn’t. Maybe I’m holding her to a way too high standard. but come on its Whitney fucking Houston! ugh. her CD is pretty decent.

and to end all disappoints because quite honestly I had no expectations is Eric Roberson, Music Fan First. I just got into him maybe last year, don’t have all his music, but I like what I’ve heard. but Music Fan First? SOLID CD. It makes me happy, and that’s exactly what I need in this dreary weather, and all the rest of the disappointments, from artists I love!

I don’t ask for much these days……. *cue Codi Chesnutt*

 I guess the next round of artists to get excited about are MJB and Raheem DeVaughn. Oh, and Amerie–who got PUSHED BACK, by the way. Who else has something coming out this fall?

I’ll report back on Trey and Jay in a couple weeks….

so…what are you listening to? I need something, anything…..


14 responses to “I’m disappointed…

  1. Tunde says:

    yeah BP3 is a disppointment in my opinion. as i’ve already stated, i really think loso’s way tops it.

    i’m with you on ready as well. trey day in my opinion is a better cd. a lot of people won’t agree because ready is more of a sex cd and i guess trey songz has become a sex symbol. i wonder how many people were even checking for trey when trey day or better yet i gotta make it were out.

  2. Cryssy says:

    well Honee you know how i feel about Trey _ TAUT you may not know :-)! But Ready is just ok! I like him so i will support but its just ok.

    Have either of your heard Anticipation? It is not the new release but I listen to that one much more than Ready!

    Let me know if either of you need it! He should have released Anticipation and just added some of the songs from Ready

  3. Crooky says:

    OK…haven’t listened to BP3 in its entirety, but I’m not as impressed. *sigh – that hurts to say that*

    Haven’t gotten into “Ready” or “Turn Me Loose”, but that ERRO….DOES NOT DISAPPOINT!! Definitely feeling it, and that was off the 1st track, “Newness”.

    As for Nippy, I think I’m scared to listen to her…I want to remember the “You Give Good Love” Whitney ya know?

  4. Reecie says:

    yea, I have Anticipation. I like it better than Ready, also…he actually couldve held off on putting out Anticipation and combined the two (leaving some songs off, of course), Ready is too long already, IMO.

  5. Ms. Minx says:

    I haven’t heard all of “Trey Day” or “Anticipation”, so I can’t compare, but I liked “Ready” on the first listen. I remember I really liked “Just Gotta Make it” and one other song he did when he 1st came out(name escapes me), then I guess I kinda stopped checking for him

    I’m not the biggest Hov fan, so I doubt I’ll get BP3. Sorry it sucks tho, Reecie-poo 😦

    Whit: When I heard the single, I wasn’t surprised. I knew it would be mediocre, and that hurt my heart. I’ll prob just keep playing my old favorites and skip this new one

    Never heard of Eric Roberson, you and Mel are the only 2 people I know that like his stuff, so I’ll prob try to cop that.

    Funny thing is, the only new music in rotation these days: Day 26/Loso’s way (cuz of you), Mary J ft Drake (off PP). Most of the time, I stick to my oldies but goodies 🙂

  6. Reecie says:

    Minx, I loved Trey’s first and second CDs, but he’s hometown (kinda) and I’ve been following him for awhile. I was rooting for him back when Chris Brown was getting all the shine…

    Mel is the one that put me on to Erro! she’s a stan for sure! LOL. I listen to a lot of old stuff, but I like to discover new stuff thats GOOD. I forgot Melanie Fiona is coming out this month, and I do like her–new artist, interested in seeing what she’s gonna bring!

    I’m listening to Whitney right now and its really not bad, but she doesn’t have the “chops” she used to have. but the last CD My Love is Your Love wasn’t that spectacular vocally either if I remember correctly.

  7. Jubilance says:

    I’m not a Trey Songz fan at all so I wasn’t really expecting anything stellar from his album. I didn’t even d/l it.

    I was debating whether or not to get Ledisi and Eric Roberson. I love them both, and both get a lot of play on my iPod. I might get the Ledisi just to support.

    I will be picking up BP3 of course…I think folks have expectations that are too high tho. Jay’s body of work is definitely strong, and he’s still better than 90% of the music coming out right now, and I’ll take his worst over Souljah Boi’s best anyday.

  8. Reecie says:

    Jubi,

    The Eric Roberson is great, the best of them all IMO. I may need more time to get into the Ledisi. And yeah, I think I place my expectations too high on Jay. I can’t pretend like the music is great though….

  9. J Money says:

    What are you not liking about BP3? This shit is crazy and dope. Its what grown man music suppose to sound like. Maybe you like the “Pushin the rock” hov over “Grown man” Hov? Considering you didnt like KC, but liked AG??

  10. Around The Way Girl says:

    BP3 is the biggest disappointment of them all. Who produced this album?? I’m feeling tracks 2, 5 and 9 and a few others I can’t remember but it’s a rather forgettable CD. I did NOT know Ledisi had new music out! I haven’t d/l Ready, but Anticipation was the lick. Do they feature the same tracks? I guess I would know more about what was going on in the music world if I wasn’t still so hard on this MAXWELL. *whew*

  11. Reecie says:

    J, I actually really like KC now, but it had to grow on me…so maybe BP3 will as well, we will have to see. I wouldn’t say I don’t like grown man music….I like HOT music! he doesn’t have to rap about hustling for it to sound good. I’m pretty over hustling music…

    AWTG, Ready only has Yo Side of the Bed and Successful (this version is wack too, IMO). oh and Invented Sex I had heard before also on a bootleg called Almost Ready, lol.

  12. Streetz says:

    BP3 is a solid album. You have to lsiten to it from top to bottom and hear what hes sayin. I think this will be a middle ground album compared to his other released, but when I put it in my whip, my car twitched lol.. CRAZY

    Rawkwon Only Built for Cuban Linx 2 is off the HOOK! Its like im back in the 90s again I love it

    Need to still hear Ready but Anticipation goes hard.

    @Tunde I dont think Losos Way > BP3 Losos way was more of a dissapointment to me. It has hits and misses. Lyrically hes a monster.

  13. Melody says:

    I stan for ERRO!!! Love him! That MusicFanFirst is solid!

    I’m listening to Ready as I type and I feel like this one was made for the 106 & Park crowd. A definite digression. This one sounds like he needs to grow up. I’m a little offended that Successful is on here too.

  14. […] spoke on my last disappointment post on BP3 and Ready. I can say now that BP3 grew on me but I still don’t really like Ready. I […]

Leave a Reply

