The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Wait A Minute…

on November 5, 2009

PAUSE!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I really liked Estelle’s CD! so thats what I’m revisiting this AM. I wonder why it seems like she hasn’t made any music for a long time–this project only came out in 2008. I think we have become so accustomed to artists constantly being in the limelight  that I’ve forgotten what its like to actually not be all over the TV when you don’t have a new project coming out. My thought is when you make dope music you don’t have to keep putting out stuff, its only when your music is mediocre you have to make a lot of it to keep yourself on folks minds, like Beyonce Gucci Mane and other random people we have been bombarded with.

So Estelle, like Jazmine Sullivan had a huge buzz around them surrounding their debut projects because of who they were affiliated with (and in Estelle’s case not debut but first released in the US), then their projects came out and you never ever really saw them again. I seriously blame the Rihannas and Beyonces of the world, that have more presence than they do vocal ability–and presence could mean famous husbands/boyfriends, great choreography and/or great stylists, which therefore provides star power behind them and its like, nobody else can shine!

speaking of shining…so did you like Estelle’s Shine? I like that she can sing and rhyme, reminds me of Lauryn Hill.  I think she has the talent to be way bigger than she is.

below is a vid of her feature with one of my fave hip hop duos Kidz in the Hall from their last project The In Crowd

if you never really got into Estelle, I implore you to check out Shine! some real bangers on there, really good music. 2008 was a good music year. 2009 is almost over and I think its been a year of too much hype and not enough good music thus many disappointments, to be honest.


2 responses to “Wait A Minute…

  1. Ms. Minx says:

    I know I’m late, lol, but better late than never, no?

    I love both Estelle & Jazz, listen to ’em almost everyday on my iPod and I’m hoping they come out with some new music soon.
    I did like “Shine”, apart from the singles, my faves are the title track and “Magnificent” . As for Jazmine, if you haven’t heard her version of “Resentment”, you should. I think its better than Beyonce’s.

    As always, great post, hun!

  2. Jubilance says:

    I really liked Shine when I first picked it up, so much that I actually bought it (as opposed to getting music via other means). But I realized today that I never listen to it, I’ve listened to it maybe 10 times and that’s it. I dont know why tho, I genuinely like her voice and her sound…she gets overshadowed by other stuff on my iPod.

Leave a Reply

