The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

A Special Occasion…

on December 4, 2009

haven’t been in the mood to write, still kinda slow motion from my holiday. just getting back in the swing of things buttttttttt…

y’all know I love him. and he loves me back (he just doesn’t know it yet!)

happy 40th birthday to my GOAT, Shawn Corey Carter!!!

some of my favorites for the occasion:

Feelin It: my absolute favorite song by him. click the link for a vintage Hov video

Politics As Usual: second fave from Reasonable Doubt “you aint seen money in your life, when it comes to the cheese yall like 3 blind mice”

Hey Papi: “even if she don’t understand the flow, she understand the dough”…nuff said

It’s Alright: holla back! forgot there was a video for this….check it. Jay looks soooo young! *sigh* my baby’s getting up there.

Where I’m From: “…niggas pull your card, and argue all day who’s the best emcees:Ā  Biggie, Jay Z and Nas” favorite from my Vol. 1 classic music, good memories, Vol. 1 is a personal favorite of mine.

Do it Again: peep the go go influence for the song concept–Overnight Scenario anyone?! Aww, watching this considering the “beef” with Beans now makes me nostalgic. This song reminds me of all my up top dudes from VSU. Civic Center classic right here!

Allure: one of his best songs ever. Its in my top…10. hard for me to have a top 5 for Jay.

Lucifer: another great track from Black Album. dopeness from ‘Ye

Girls Girls Girls Remix: some of my favorite wordplay from my dude

Best of Me Remix: “have an affair, act like an adult for once”, not his song but a dope verse, nonetheless. click link for the video–I wanted a Carolina jersey dress so bad! aint have nary curve to fill one out though, lol

Kingdom Come: goes hard on the cd of the same title. this CD grew on me in a big way… “not only NYC, I’m hip hop’s savior, so after this flow you might owe me a favor…”

My 1st Song: more from Black Album. great way to end a CD

Brooklyn’s Finest: you know I had to include the duet with my boy BIG.

You’re Only a Customer: “you’re walking in the presence of hustlers…” banger from Streets is Watching

Come and Get Me: prob the hardest track on Vol. 3 “no kids but trust me I know how to raise a gun”

U Don’t Know: another favorite on my top Jay songs. gets me so hype its ridiculous

A Dream: one of the few I digged on BP2 “Hov remind yourself, nobody built like you, you define yourself”

Roc Boys: true party anthem! this was a dope video too.

Soon You’ll Understand: love this song,Ā  there was only a couple I did like from ROC La Familia….I used to play this song over and over. oh, to be in college

Jigga My Nigga: another favorite, from that Ruff Ryders Vol 1–CLASSIC CD!

Thank You: “you’re far too kind…this is your song, not mine…”

ok his catalog is huge, but I tried to pull some of my faves from every CD. I purposely missed some of the “bangers” but this here is MY LIST! and off the dome AT THAT–so give ya girl aĀ  lil credit here, HOLA HOVITO!

enjoy! happy Friday! šŸ™‚


12 responses to “A Special Occasion…

  1. Jubilance says:

    Great post Reecie! I’ve been a Huge Jay fan since the first time I heard Dead Presidents, he’s definitely my favorite artist.

    And your right, his catalog is bananas! I have a Jay-Z smart playlist in my iTunes & the list is huge!

    I like most of your choices ma’am, you got good taste.

  2. Reecie says:

    Thanks Jubi! I have a smart playlist for him too-and also MJB, the only two artists I have tons of music for. I think my smart playlist is 75 songs long, its crazy. I’m actually listening to it now on my ipod. Some of the songs listed in the post are on there, but only a few–this was a true “off the dome” listing!

  3. Tunde says:

    off the list you composed my top 3 would have to be politics as usual, hey papi and girls, girls, girls remix. you’re right it is pretty hard to have a top anything as far as jay is concerned. he’s had way too many hits over the years. i have my jay mix going right now 207 songs & 14.5 hours. crazy. anyone who doesn’t respect jay at one of the best that ever did is either a hater or just doesn’t know good hip hop.

  4. D. Mitch says:

    OK…so I was actually waiting on this post from you. But I can’t believe that you forgot about the great Hov/Em collabo in “Renegade”; or Jay in his beginnings of Reasonable Doubt “Can I Live”?!

    But I dig it though…this is an extensive but good list, and I’m sure you ain’t forget em, just wanted to be fair. šŸ˜›

  5. Reecie says:

    I didn’t forget them D…I said I purposely left songs out. Those are “predictable”. again this is MY LIST. šŸ˜‰

  6. Streetz says:

    Reecie I think you touched o every song in LIFE lol but good ish!

    some of mineS

    Bring it on – off the first album Sauce $$ went IN

    I know/No Hook/Ignorant sh*t – All classic flows off one of his top 3 albums (yup i said it)

    Success – Best Jay/Nas collabo by far

    99 problems – because I was in the video šŸ˜‰ lol

    Imaginary player – applies to so many people! Real Rap!

    So Ghetto – CHUUUCH

    and many more

    Respect to Jay!

  7. Reecie says:

    yeah Can I Live, So Ghetto, and Imaginary Player are other favorites…

  8. Ms. Minx says:

    Stan much?
    I’m not a big Jay-Z fan, but Girls, Girls Girls & Song Cry??
    My jamz…I got a few others too, but my brain is jampacked with school stuff, so I can’t remember..lol
    As usual, u putting me on to stuff I’ve missed! šŸ˜‰

  9. nyhoop says:

    “My stuff is butter for the bread, they wanna toast me…”

    The Jigga Man is a Brooklyn hero! lol

  10. Zoom says:

    Great post, I haven’t listened to some of these songs in a minute. I feel the way about Hov, like folx felt about Mike(nh)…lol…dude is sick wit it!

  11. Cryssy says:

    Sags are the best people…that is all i have to say about this. LOL

  12. kleankut says:

    who ever though we would be feelin a 40y/o rapper? lol 10 years ago(1999) jay-z was hottest rapper, in 2009 jay-z is hottest rapper lol whats wrong with that picture

Leave a Reply

