The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Everytime you touch me…

on December 11, 2009

I wrote about Alicia Keys some time ago, and a few other discussions have been going on about her music, especially with the new CD coming out. I will be the first to say I was not a fan of As I Am at all. I will also say I’m not really liking the new singles or looking forward to the new project. I’ve had enough disappointments this year! lol. But this song right here is a gem. I loved it immediately. And the video? WHAT a message. peep that at the end. These are some powerful lyrics, vibe with me for a minute…

If I had no more time
No more time left to be here
Would you cherish what we have
Cause I’m everything that you were looking for

If I couldn’t feel your touch
And no longer were you with me
I’ll be wishing you were here
To be everything that I’ve been looking for

I don’t want to forget the present is a gift
And I don’t want to take for granted the time you may have here with me
Cause Lord only knows another day is not really guaranteed, so

Everytime you hold me
Hold me like this is the last time
Everytime you kiss me
Kiss me like you’ll never see me again
Everytime you touch me
Touch me like this is the last time
Promise that you’ll love me
Love me like you’ll never see me again

How many really know what love is
Now you never will
Do you know until you lose it
That it’s everything that we are looking for

When I wake up in the morning
With you beside me
I’m so thankful that I found
Everything that I’ve been looking for

I don’t want to forget the present is a gift
And I don’t want to take for granted the time you may have here with me
Cause Lord only knows another day is not really guaranteed, so

Everytime you hold me
Hold me like this is the last time
Everytime you kiss me
Kiss me like you’ll never see me again
Everytime you touch me
Touch me like this is the last time
Promise that you’ll love me
Love me like you’ll never see me again

I haven’t heard this song in a long time, but it came on a playlist this morning–my first A.M. song and I knew it was the one I wanted to share today. I’ve been going thru some things and this made me think about how important it is for us to cherish the loves we have in our lives and  treat them like we’ll never see them again.  I know I need to do better, I’m a work in progress. Favorite line: “I don’t want to forget that the present is a gift, and I don’t want to take for granted the time you may have here with me”


4 responses to “Everytime you touch me…

  1. Melody says:

    This is one of a handful of A. Keys songs I mess with.

  2. MilanRouge says:

    Love this song. And I agree with you about A. Keyes As I Am. That cd had a few songs that were THE TRUTH (of course-Like You’ll Never See Me, Lessons Learned and Tell You Something). The rest? Eh. (wait I’ll add Wreckless Love to that…I liked that one too) Her first two cds were great. This new one….I had high hopes but I’m not hearing good things at all. I’m gonna listen and see for myself because regardless there are just artists I tend to support no matter what and she’s one of them for me. I do like Sleeping With A Broken Heart…its nothing innovative or new for her but I dig the message of the song.

    Oh and I feel you, Reecie. I think we all need to do better with cherishing the loved ones we have in our lives and letting them KNOW THAT. Tomorrow is not promised.

    Great read as always, dsands. 😉

  3. Streetz says:

    thiss song is tabernacle. the new album is cool too!

  4. Cryssy says:

    Lesson Learned is one of my fav A.Keys songs. I was at a crossroad when that song came out and whew it spoke to me.

    Goodbye is another one of my favs in additon to the one you listed.

    I have a great love for A. Keys because of when I saw her live. As I Am was def not Songs In A Minor but it was decent. I didn’t compare it to her other cd’s and just listened for what it was. When it comes up in my iPod I don’t find me skipping any songs.

Leave a Reply

