The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

If tonight is my last…

on December 29, 2009

This is my favorite song on Laura  Izibor’s debut CD: Let the Truth Be Told. It was one of my favorite releases this year. A new artist with a fresh voice, good music and its just very well done IMO.

As the first year of my personal music blog winds down (time really flies!) I realized that this is the end of a decade! people that know me know who my favorite artists are–if you don’t you should take the time to read some of the archives! I talk about them a lot. like here, and here, and here. Here too. 🙂

so while listening to this song last week, I made a note to blog about this song, and another with a similar theme.

as we end an era- the first 2k bunch, I’ll say a lot happened in this decade for me: started college (well technically at the end of last decade), I pledged my sorority, I graduated from undergrad, then graduate school, got my first real salaried job with benefits, then moved faaar away for the first time for another…lots of major moves.

anyway, some lyrics:

If an angel came down to me
Ask what I would do differently
I would say nothing you see
I love someone truly

And If I do not see tomorrow
You know it’s gonna be alright
‘Cause I got my Baby
Right by my side

And if the rain ain’t falling
And the sun ain’t shining
It makes no difference to me
I’m right where I wanna be

And if tonight is my last,
What I gotta do,
And if tonight is my last
I wanna spend it with you…

when I really sat down and listened to the words, it automatically made me think of  a song by one of my FAVORITE singers, the lovely Teedra Moses. I decided that I wasn’t gonna do a post about the best CDs this year or even this decade because best is so relative and personal, but I WILL SAY that Complex Simplicity was theee best CD that came out in 2004. if you haven’t heard it, you are LOSING! The only other CD I will cosign like that is the 2008 release Leave it All Behind by The Foreign Exchange. These two have touched me in a big way!

anyway, the song in particular on that CD is called “Last Day”

I pray that the sun shines, in the windows like it did on her day. Won’t sleep the night before, I’d be up just pondering my life. I would call on my peeps early in the morning, to come later for a party. I’d spend the day with my angels at the beach, listening to the shore. That would be the way they remember me.

If this was my last day here on Earth…

so anyway, I want to end this year on a good note. Even though this topic is a  little morbid, the songs are peaceful because they are about remembering the good (and maybe the bad that produced good lessons)  that we have endured this last day/month/year/decade.

I’m hopeful that we will all enter the new year with a renewed spirit to continue to be the best we can be, working toward our short and long term goals. I moved away from resolutions years ago because I try to not wait for a new year, but to make positive decisions all the time–no certain month or day needed for my motivation 🙂

I wish you all a happy new year in advance. See you in 2010, as we go on our personal journeys, looking forward to more dialogue on the music that travels with us!


8 responses to “If tonight is my last…

  1. MilanRouge says:

    I am ashamed to say that I haven’t heard all of Laura Izibor’s cd that came out this year and I’ve never listened to a Teedra Moses album. I’ll get on that! Congrats on the first year of your music blog. I came in somewhere in the middle (I believe) but it is my go-to spot for recs, music reviews and reminiscing on the “old” cuts that jam. 😉 Keep it up, girl! Have a beautiful, blessed an fulfilled New Year. 🙂

  2. Cryssy says:

    “I’m hopeful that we will all enter the new year with a renewed spirit to continue to be the best we can be, working toward our short and long term goals. I moved away from resolutions years ago because I try to not wait for a new year, but to make positive decisions all the time–no certain month or day needed for my motivation”

    love this…and I agree! I have started my 2010 Goals work up and i have also started to actively work towards them. I don’t need 01-01-2010 to come for me to start WORKING.

    you rock much success this year honey

  3. Lisa says:

    Reecie, you KNOW this spoke to me. I’m going to play TM later on today, you know that CD means so much to me. Thanks so much for this post. ❤

  4. Tunde says:

    yes a lot happened this decade and this year certainly flew by and i look forward to what the new year will bring. this upcoming decade will be soooo much better than the last even though it was great. i’m calling it. good post.

  5. Streetz says:

    Can’t wait to ride out another year with ya TWIN! 🙂

    Keep up the good work~!

  6. ASmith says:

    You already know I’m digging Laura’s album.

    Great post and great points. It’s a beautiful thing to be able to end out a year, a decade, and look back and see the good with the bad, know what helped you grow, what held you back and who was there through it all.

    I love ends because they lead to other beginnings. I’m not into the cheesy, but I’ll do it for this purpose. 🙂

  7. Myne Whitman says:

    Just found this blog and must say I like the concept and the posts. The first song was really good and I’ll check it out. Happy New Year!

  8. Laura Izibor is amazing. I saw her open for India.Arie over the summer and became an immediate fan. “If Tonight is My Last and “Don’t Stay” are my favorite songs on her album. I’ve been hearing about Teedra Moses for years and never really listened that closely. This post just inspired me to download Complex Simplicity to see what the fuss is about.

    A decade gone? Crazy how time flies, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

