The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Be a Father to Your Child…

on January 25, 2010

so about 4am this morning, this song popped into my head!

I really have no idea why, but then again I do.

Last night I watched the Lifetime movie The Pregnancy Pact, and in all its ridiculousness, I was angry and I was kinda sad watching it. Sad because as I discussed with several of my friends via twitter, there are real life immature girls thinking its cute to have babies. hmph.

The ridiculousness factor came with the whole ‘pact’. I tweeted last night that the friend that comes to me and says “yall gotta promise to get pregnant too” is one less friend that I have. I mean that as my teenage self, and even my adult self. I don’t understand how someone could make such a serious decision that affects your entire life just because a friend did it too. I know peer pressure exists but come on!

I’m not naive, and while I have never been presented with the decision to have or not have a baby, I know its not a light decision at any age. I just couldn’t get over the gall of the main character that decided to have a child without even consulting her boyfriend–her boyfriend that talked about going to college OFTEN. He loved her, but clearly wanted to do other things with his life before getting married and having kids. And she had NO life goals. NONE.  I am soooo not doing what I thought at 16, 17 I would be doing as an adult–I did get my Master’s Degree as I indicated I would  in my senior book, but I do not work in higher education. Overall I say even with a change of plans, I still had goals! that shocked me most of all.

Anyway, the song popped in my head because no matter that the decision was taken away from the young boy (which can happen to ALL MALES and is very unfortunate) once the decision is made to go on with the pregnancy, men should step up and be fathers to their children. I know its not the fair circumstance in many cases, but it’s the responsible one. A child is innocent and didn’t ask to be born, no matter how crazy, immature, and selfish its parents are.

Wow, a lot for a Monday morning I know. but that movie was a trip! I know some of you all saw it too…tell me what you think.

also, am I dating myself by knowing an Ed OG & da Bulldogs, song? lol…oh well.


7 responses to “Be a Father to Your Child…

  1. Tunde says:

    Good post. Seems like it was an interesting movie. When I first saw the title of your post on my blog roll I thought you were going to post “Stay” by Fabolous ft. Marsha Ambrosius.

  2. Carla says:

    Great post! I need to see the movie as well. It has raised a lot of dialogue and hopefully parents watched it with their kids, both sons and daughters.

    It is so important to have goals in your life and communicate them with your inner circle. Make a pact like those Black doctors did, not something like this.

  3. kleankut says:

    wow thats a throwback track!! the horn sample on that track is classic!!

  4. Crooky says:

    I haven’t seen the movie and right now I don’t think that I have the patience to deal with it. I’ve even tried to give the 16 & Pregnant/Teen Mom shows a try, but I just end up truly disgusted at the young girls.

    Heck I’m 37 years old and I struggle NOW with the notion of having a child. It’s NOT easy and it’s a MAJOR struggle even for an established woman (which I think I am).

    I would have to agree with Carla – there are so many OTHER wonderful pacts to make with friends – graduation from college or grad school, professional job, heck…flyest ride even!

    *sigh*

  5. Cryssy says:

    So those fucktard ass little girls ran me hot! I think what pissed me off more was how stupid they portrayed these girls and the damn parents..

    But back to the subject at hand. Whenever you lay down there is a possibility a child can be the end result. You got dudes walking around fresh to deaf but ain’t seen the seed they help create ‘hmph.

    Girl you know I could go on and on about this here subject….

  6. MilanRouge says:

    I wholeheartedly agree. The main character was super trife for “tricking” her boyfriend into getting pregnant. The thing that struck me the most about this movie was this notion of having a baby at 15 and 16 is cool. I mean…I guess some girls do feel that way, however, when I was 15 and 16 the girls that I hung with all felt the same way. Some were having sex and some weren’t but NONE of us wanted babies. NONE. We didn’t think it was a cute OR smart thing to do…at all. And the girls that I know that did get pregnant young…it wasn’t something they wanted. So the whole dialogue in the movie had me like “HUH?”. But yes…regardless of the circumstances and how mess up they are, a father still needs to be a father to his child. Period. Babies are the innocent ones. This movie seriously made my head hurt though. I guess it goes back to what you said before, Reecie, back then when I was that age I had goals and life things I wanted to do. These girls in the movies had none of that. I guess that makes the difference. Good post.

  7. […] some kinda way about men that don’t take care of their children. I think I spoke on that in an old post about that crazy movie Pregnancy Pact that came on earlier this year. So I won’t go into that […]

Leave a Reply

