The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

90’s Mix: Throwback Thursday

on January 28, 2010

Throwback Thursday!!! 90s Edition.

So every time I do a throwback post this is what I do: randomly play songs from my iPod–that’s it. The post isn’t planned out or written in advance, I totally do listen to these songs as I write. I guess its like sharing a part of my day with you–when I feel so moved. Sometimes I pick from the automatically populated 90’s Music playlist that  iTunes created; sometimes I just hit next on my entire library–I have that much older music that’s not just from the 90s so that makes it pretty easy. It’s totally random and unless I have a particular artist in mind that day, I just post whatever sounds good that I’m feeling.

so this is what we are rolling with today….

I loved Nicole Wray’s CD! This was my favorite song on there; I swear for me and my hs boyfriend this was “our song”. I did a previous Throwback Thursday post that included another favorite from that cd, “Borrowed Time”. Only thing I dislike about this video is that Mocha’s rap is different than the one on the album version. This CD came out at the height of the Missy/Timbaland reign, and being from VA of course I was all over every single collaboration.

“yes yes y’all to the beat y’all!”

Back then he was truly baby Puffy. LOL All videos looked the same too because this one truly gives me Total’s “Can’t You See” as well!

Usher’s been leaking some pretty wack music lately. which is disappointing because I LOOOOVE me some Usher. Well, 90s Usher. his first two cd’s were favorites, I didn’t really get into 8701 but after so many people whose musical judgment I respect told me it was a banger I revisited it in recent years. And of course the epic Confessions. There is still one song I CANNOT listen to ever again in life on that cd–because it was played out sooooo much. click here if you are curious, but it features two favorites “Throwback” and “Bad Girl”. the former I wrote a post on awhile ago–and the latter of course being one of my theme songs. If  you are a fan of R&B, you can’t go wrong with 14-16 year old Usher, IMO. He’s what– 30 now? I think he’s a yr or so older than me. I’d like to see his career continue to climb but I’m not so sure.

“we used to be number 10, now we’re permanent at 1”

I looooved this song too! I was definitely a Fugees fan and The Score still gets rotation, not heavy in recent times but its timeless. I may have to put that back in my car, hmm. Apparently there has been a resurgence of L  Boogie with a recent performance in New Zealand. I hope she get get it together and bring us some new music–you already know how I feel about her. I kinda hope for a Fugees reunion though. I’m fiending for Lauryn to return to her hip hop roots. Pras, I can take or leave but L & Clef together I think they could still make some good music.

“you only live once and you’re not coming back…so express yourself!”

ok I was a serious SNP fan growing up. Actually I think they are truly the group that cultivated my future love for rap and hip hop. I was really the 8 year old spitting verses and wanting an asymmetric cut like them! I had their music on 45s! 45s yall! if you don’t know what a 45 is…#killyoself. Their music was a bit mature for a child looking back, but it wasn’t really vulgar being that I didn’t REALLY know what they were talking about–but  “Shake Your Thing” I have fond memories of singing and dancing to at Kinder Care. Music shapes lives, y’all. LOL  This song is really old but the lyrics still stand true today: people wanting to be like other people, instead of being themselves–find a way to be unique and express individuality. It’s also a trip how Pepa is now on TV making a fool of herself and while Salt won’t subject herself to the foolishness on camera, she executive produces the show. hmm. Their Hits Remixed CD was an early purchase from Columbia House back in the day and it gets lots of play on my ipod.

to slow it down a bit, some Sisters With Voices.

If you don’t think this song is on point then I guess you must have never been in love. hmph.

Funny my girl Cryssy and I were JUST talking about this song last week. Man! this song was on the “break up” playlist heavy. I know you all had a break up playlist. I think this one kept me going from HS well into college. *whew this song!* I could write a post on this song alone but I really don’t want to go there–I’m in a good place right now…

and lastly an underrated girl group brought to us by Keith Sweat. my FAVORITE song of theirs that I HAD NO IDEA there was a video for: I just love youtube.

This video is very choppy, but Surrender is a banger and I think I will be listening to Kut Klose for the rest of the morning now…

Happy Thursday, thanks for traveling back in time with me…memories.


9 responses to “90’s Mix: Throwback Thursday

  1. MilanRouge says:

    Great list! That “yes yes ya’ll to the beat ya’ll” had me snapping my fangas with NO MUSIC ON IN MY OFFICE! Loved it! And yes Usher has been disappointing lately…so sad. I used to really EFF with him. Bleh!

    SNP has always been a favorite of mine. As a little girl HALF of what they were talking about went over my head but I loved them! Your list is on point for today. Good job! 😉

    Oh and bwahahaahaaa at the hashtag “killyoself”…that always makes me weak. I’m so mad at you for that.

  2. Cryssy says:

    Funny this am i Was listening to You Make Mw Wanna – Usher and was jammin! And you already know the deal with Fine Time!!! WHEW!!!

    Kut Klose was a good group the lead singer had some chops on her!

    I am about to be in my office partying! The 90’s produced some GOOD music

  3. Jubilance says:

    As usual Reecie, your list is on point! I loved loved loved that first Usher album, back then I had the tape (ahh the memories) and I played it out! Faith did a lot of the background vocals on that album too, you can hear her voice stand out on some of the interludes & the songs. “Can You Get With It” was one of my fave songs back then, had Usher with that Jodeci-type vibe since Devante produced the song (and I think he wrote it too).

    “Expression” forever will be my fave Salt-n-Pepa song. Whenever it comes on my iPod I sing the whole thing word-for-word. I dont think it gets mentioned a lot when folks talk about SNP but IMO its one of their best songs.

    “Fugee-La” actually made me a Fugees fan…cause before then everybody was on some “why’d that girl from Sister Act 2 join a rap group?” (remember that?).

    Great list as usual Reecie!

  4. D. Mitch says:

    Ahhh Reecie, as usual, you know I gets with your lists. That old school chubby Usher used to bang all the time. Me and my soror were just talkin about “Just Call Me a Mack”….ROTF.

    I recently just did a post on L. Boogie. I miss her lots…she used to bring it and bring it HARD. Like for real tho. Come back from the light Lauryn…come back.

  5. Ms. Minx says:

    Yes, awesome list!! My sister & I used to harmonize the beginning of that particular Nicole Wray song to death, you hear me, lol? Good times.
    LOL@ Baby Puffy. Such an apt description. I loved me some teen Usher too, and his wackness is quite sad now. Trading Places? Papers? ugh no thanks
    I loved the Fugee-la video soooo much. Watching it now, I have no idea why, lol.
    I never really got into Kut Klose like that, so I can only remember “I Like”. Cool song, tho

  6. Tunde says:

    “I didn’t really get into 8701 but after so many people whose musical judgment I respect told me it was a banger I revisited it in recent years. And of course the epic Confessions.”

    – well i’m glad that you finally got into 8701. i’ll take full credit for that. btw, i still think 8701 is his best album. 😉

  7. Streetztalk says:

    Fugeela was my shyt! You know the Haitian massive had to rep! They not gettin back though and I think I’m good with that!

    Laryn Hill wouldve been one of hip hops GOATs had she not gone loco

  8. Melody says:

    So I’m all over this post (late and whatnot, I know…). This post brings back memories!

    My sister and I were Salt-n-Pepa. We used to rap “Express Yourself” while we did the dishes! She was Salt and I was Pepa.

    When I was in 7th grade, me and some girls tried to make our own SWV. I can’t sing so I was the rapper. Clearly, that went nowhere! LOL!

    And that Kut Klose cd reminds me of late night telephone conversations with ol’ boy in high school. Ahh… good times. Good post!

  9. K. Rock says:

    Yep. Usher is terrible now. I don’t know what he is going through.

    I had totally forgotten about the Nicole Wray and Kut Klose songs, but once they came on I started singing it (Don’t you love when that happens?).

    I love 90’s music and I find myself with a deeper appreciation for it now than I had then.

Leave a Reply

