The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Let’s Float…down ‘The Sea’

on February 1, 2010

so lets sit back, close our eyes and float. Well, at least that’s what I did while listening to the mellow sophomore release from Corinne Bailey Rae, The Sea.

standout tracks to me are

  • Closer
  • Feels Like the First Time
  • I Would Like to Call it Beauty
  • The Sea
  • I’d Do it All Again.

These songs vary in content, and while none of it is “slit your wrists” depressing, the latter three are a bit somber.

I mentioned her in my I Miss You post last year and she definitely didn’t disappoint in her return! (Vivian Green got next!) Most fans of her music are aware that her husband died in an accidental overdose back in 2008 and you usually expect artists to make sad music to reflect life experiences but this CD is not totally sad by any means.  It goes in waves, the transition isn’t happy to sad or vice versa, but a bit of ebb  & flow. check it out and you will see…

some lyrics from the lead single “I’d Do it All Again”,

“It’s hard to believe this time, hard to believe
That my heart, my heart’s an open door
You got all you came for, baby
So weary, someone to love is bigger than your pride’s worth
Is bigger than the pain you got for it hurts
And out runs all of the sadness
It’s terrifying, life, through the darkness

And I’d do it all again, I’d do it all again
I’d do it all again, I’d do it all again…”

“Are You Here” and “Love’s On Its Way” are other downcast songs with a but otherwise its filled with her infectious vocals we love and the romantic content we are used to.

my absolute favorite song by CBR is “Breathless” and while I do not have a “comparable” standout yet on this CD, it is nice. very nice.  Paper Dolls and Paris Nights/New York Mornings are two other strong songs. This is music you play in the car to calm you down, makes you feel whimsical and at peace. I dig it, a lot. But then again I am a fan. a lot has happened in her life in the last 4 years since her debut (as all of us!) but this is definitely a great sophomore effort.

Monday Edit: I absolutely cannot stop listening to “Closer”. It may be my “Breathless” on this CD.


5 responses to “Let’s Float…down ‘The Sea’

  1. MilanRouge says:

    Okay. Gonna DL this today. I had already planned to just hadn’t gotten around to it. I dig her, am a definite fan and I was really interested to see how she would come back after the death of her husband. The cd has been getting good reviews so far. I’m happy for her. My fav CBR song is ‘Til It Happens To You….thanks for the review! 😉

  2. Tunde says:

    i’m going to get this today. i really liked her first album. glad you like it. i am also waiting for vivian green.

  3. No lie…I’m infatuated with Mrs. Corinne…I saw I’d Do It All Again on Centric and it put me on the prow on this album…I’m definitely getting it…

  4. Tracie says:

    I love CBR and I love the new album. I think I like it better than the first one. I like all your standouts plus “Love is on its way” I love how it builds up to the end, but it took me a second to realize what she was saying in the song. LOL

  5. […] when I reviewed this album here, I said that this song had potential be my new “Breathless”. A new fave, and it so […]

Leave a Reply

