The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Something’s comin over me…

on March 10, 2010

…my baby’s got a secret”



I’m a huge fan of Madge (I call her this because we’re familiar) in general but this CD she went for a different vibe, less pop and a bit more R&B, to me anyway.  Bedtime Stories was released in 1994– I’m not sure how this snuck in my headphones as I was living in a hip hop infused world, but it did.

Some lyrics:

Things haven’t been the same
Since you came into my life
You found a way to touch my soul
And I’m never, ever, ever gonna let it go

Happiness lies in your own hand
It took me much too long to understand
How it could be
Until you shared your Secret with me

Mmm mmm
Something’s comin’ over, mmm mmm
Something’s comin’ over, mmm mmm
Something’s comin’ over me
My baby’s got a secret

You gave me back the paradise

I thought was gone for good…

You helped me find the reasons why
It took me by surprise that you understood
You knew all along
What I never wanted to say
Until I learned to love myself
I was never ever lovin’ anybody else…

“until I learned to love myself…” that line right there is when the song comes full circle for me! I won’t go into an emo rant on happiness and loving yourself–I’ve done that in the past, but I will say that this song does make me feel good inside.

I’m still not sure what the “secret” is, but in my mind, its about a S/O or close friend allowing themselves to be vulnerable to you, sharing a part of themselves they may have been keeping bottled up; and in turn you are able to do the same. They both let their guard down, and realize that they feel the same way, or better yet that they are both…well flawed human beings. I recently watched a live version of Madonna performing this song at a concert  with a more acoustic sound and she flashed many different images behind her that gave it a bit more of a spiritual context. so perhaps the song is about a relationship with God. The great thing about music is  that sometimes songs can be interpreted different ways. The context is what you make it. That’s pretty cool too. I just read online that some interpret the “secret” is that her boyfriend is cheating. who knows!  And I totally just noticed that Omar from The Wire is in this video! I promise its him!

another song that I love on Bedtime Stories was produced by and includes background vocals by Babyface. Madonna is mostly known for upbeat pop/techno jams but I happen to love the ballads. peep the video below.

“the show is over, say goodbye. say goodbye…”


7 responses to “Something’s comin over me…

  1. Ty says:

    Thanks for the flash back! Take A Bow is one of my ultimate Madge songs! I was just talking about this video the other day too~it didn’t make a top 100 countdown of sexiest videos~ I was so confused! This is one of thee most sexy vids I remember!

  2. Crooky says:

    Madonna…er um, Madge! “Take A Bow” is one of my faves from her. I used to REALLY be into her (in her earlier, Borderline days)…now not so much. Might need to add some of her oldies to my iPod though.

  3. Ms. Minx says:

    Cosign on both posts above: I LOVE “Take a Bow”. Sidenote: I love about 95% of anything Babyface had a hand in.

    Great interpretation of “My Baby’s got a secret”, too. Food for thought :o)

  4. D. Mitch says:

    Honestly, I don’t really get into Madonna like that, but “Take a Bow” always was the cut!

  5. K. Rock says:

    I used to love that Bedtime Stories cd because Babyface produced it. This and Human Nature were the jams.

  6. MilanRouge says:

    Ummm…me no likey Madonna. LOL!
    The only song I LOVED of hers was Like A Prayer (still do). Other than that…bleh Madge! LOL

  7. Tisha says:

    i had no idea so many of “us” liked “take a bow.” i really used to dig that joint, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

