The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

What Good Do Your Words Do?

on March 21, 2010

if they can’t understand you?

so I’ve been on a Badu kick lately. it doesn’t take much, she’s one of my favorite artists; her music as diverse as her looks. I would be lying if I said she doesn’t at times confuse me, but she always keeps me watching, waiting, and wanting more–so I suppose she’s doing something right. I’ve seen her live a couple times and that just adds to the experience, IMO.

Mama’s Gun is my favorite album of hers, but of course I love Baduizm. I even dedicated a post to my favorite song on that cd (which was not a single) that truly repesents the complex indecisiveness that means to be a Libra.

another song from MG, is one of my many theme songs, which lyrics I have been known to quote on twitter and facebook often, for the hell of it. I can do that, lol. that song is “Booty.” its just a great song–like your man is all up ON THIS, but I’m not EVEN sweating his cheating trifling ass! girl let him go!

with the leaks of Jump Up in the Air, Window Seat, and now Strawberry Incense…I can say that I am definitely looking forward to her new CD.

here are more songs by her that I absolutely adore (click the links for some treats):

Ye Yo: this song brings me to tears–yall  know I’m in touch with the tear duct ministry,  so this should come to no surprise. I remember when I first got my copy of the Live cd–it came in the mail–of course I was BMG/Columbia House down, and this song stood out to me the most.  “cause sometimes you feel like, you’re by yourself…” as she says that her voice cracks a little and I just FELT every bit of this song. still do. “sometimes, sometimes I get so lonely lonely lonely, I feel all by myself up here…” now being older and have lived a bit longer–I still know how that feels. she sings with so much emotion, and I love a song that gives that.

Otherside of the Game“now me & baby got this situation, see brother got this complex occupation…and I ain’t saying that this life don’t work, but its me & baby that he hurts…”.  I have never seen a drug dealer with the style of Andre 300o but she made it somewhat believable, lol.

Kiss Me on My Neck: THIS SONG! whew lawd…I don’t think I need to say much more…but. I feel the sentiment. Indeed.

Master Teacher: I STAY WOKE! nuff said.

Love of my Life: you know I gotta love the Ode to Hip Hop! this was a cool video too…

Didn’t Cha Know: the cool. I rode out to this in my car today, windows down and just felt serene. this is a chill song, the instrumentation is awesome.

Back in the Day: another cool, very chill song…

Green Eyes: the quintessential ‘im still not over you’ song. “I’m insecure, but I can’t help it. My mind says move on, my heart lags behind…”

Telephone: When her last CD came out, I just loved her voice on this.  Then I read that this song was a tribute to Dilla and that made more sense in regards to the lyrics &  the song more sentimental to me.

Telephone,
Its Ol’ Dirty..
He wants to give you directions home
Said it wont be too long
Said it wont be too long

Telephone…
It’s too early
We want to hear a long song..
Transition with a real slow fade

Just fly away to heaven brother
Make a place for me brother
Fly away to heaven brother
Save a place for me brother
Fly away to heaven brother
Put in a word for me…
Telephone
Oh

Of course there are many more songs I love…but if I listed them all, what would you all share in the comments?!

and lastly not her song, but one I love featuring her, from one of my favorite groups, The Roots.

so tell me, do you dig Badu? what are some of your favorites?


10 responses to “What Good Do Your Words Do?

  1. MilanRouge says:

    I love Badu. She is indeed confusing at times but she brings a talent to the game that can’t be matched, imo. I LOVE Ye-Yo…like you mentioned. Also, Next Lifetime is probably still one of my favorites of hers (oddly enough I experienced that exact same situation in my life..hmm). Otherside of the Game is another fav. Also Sometimes and Four Leaf Clover from Baduizm. Danger from Mama’s Gun is the truth. Yeah I love her. LOL. Saw her in concert last May and she was pretty dope although her set coulda been longer.

  2. Jubilance says:

    I stan for Erykah Badu, she is one of favorite artists of all-time. In high school I played my Baduizm tape (dang I’m showing my age) so much that I broke it! In college Mama’s Gun stayed in my CD player, especially “Green Eyes”. I know a lot of folks didnt like her last one, but I really dug it & I can’t wait for the new one to drop.

    Great post as usual Reecie! We stay on the same musical page…except for your hate of Jagged Edge! *shakes fist*

  3. I am an Erykah Badu STAN!!!!!!! I have the Ankh from her first album tattooed on my back! I have always loved the Queen of Modern Neo Soul! Reecie you’re always reading my mind with the music sis!

  4. Tray says:

    I love Erykah Badu too. But I have to admit that I’m not much onto Mama’s Gun. Seriously from 2001 to 2006 I was so immersed in Music studies that I was completely unaware of current music. But one of my favorites is “Me” from off the last album. I love it it is so uplifting.

  5. Ms. Minx says:

    Man…I wore out Baduizm & Live! My faves ever from Badu are from those 2. Rimshot, Appletree, O course On & On, and Tyrone…yup.

    Love of my Life, of course, is another. I need to re-listen to Badu, I think, its been a while 🙂

    Oh, and I kinda prefer Jill Scott’s version of “You got me”, tho Erykah’s is cool as well.

  6. Reecie says:

    I knew someone was going to bring up Jill Scott’s version of You Got Me. I like hers also…I actually love the live version from Dave Chappelle’s block party when they both sing it together.

  7. Dr. J says:

    Penitentiary Philosophy
    Green Eyes
    Ye Yo
    and Tyrone…

    Because Tyrone is so hilarious to me, but the same could be said for a female. It’s very unisex. And I love to tell a woman when she is dating an old monkey negro, that she needs to listen to that song.

    Ladies listen to me, if you listen to that song and you are like man the guy i’m dating is a lot like this guy… CALLL HIM!

  8. Crooky says:

    I’m a stan for E. Badu too. Mama’s Gun was my clear favorite. As you mention, Green Eyes are the ISHT (lord knows my eyes have been green more times than I care to count) and “Orange Moon”. I went to see her in ATL some years ago (Musiq was with her), and there was something about her performance of Orange Moon and Green Eyes that had me in TEARS…I mean a river was right in the middle of the Fox theater.

    Other favorite track on MG are “Pententiary Philosophy” “A.D. 2000”, and “Time’s A Wastin”….bottom line, I rock this CD OFTEN!!

    “Window Seat” is a nice groove…lookin’ forward to her new release.

  9. K. Rock says:

    E. Badu is one of my favs. I love all of her cd’s. Admittingly, it took me a while to get into her last realease but I was able to find a few jams on there. I am excited about the new cd though. Heard some snippets over on Amazon and it sounds pretty good.

  10. anson1 says:

    I’ve been a fan ever since Ms.Badu came out. I always like how she’s always been ahead of her time then & now. Along with what everyone else just named, I also like “I Want You”, “Danger”, “Soldier” just to name a few.

Leave a Reply

