The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

The Fact Is…

on March 24, 2010

…I need you.

so I spend a lot of time reading blogs and now twitter–much to my detriment. lol. I’m easily amused, and therefore just as easily irritated. I like discussions on music (which is why I started this blog), I enjoy pretty girly things like shoes, dresses, purses, and makeup. I’m a Sociologist at heart and by discipline and I love interacting with people, observing people…discussions on relationships are bound to come up, in real life or online. I am aware that perception is not reality, but I’m 100% me on and off the innernets. I recently hit 20K tweets and my good friend (that has known me since childhood) said “motor mouth”to me  and I thought, well duh, because I tweet as much as I talk in real life and…well I was nicknamed Chatterbox at age 4. lol

so anyway back to the song. My aura has been corrupted on what is all wrong with women–you all have read the articles about how black women aint’ ish, we will be single forever, have the net value of $5 and oh yea, all have the herp. I can’t make this stuff up, folks. In addition to the articles are the blogs (I do NOT consider them one in the same), and the commentary.

so on a Wednesday like any other I’m vibing to my iPod, I decided to play my “lovesongs” playlist to spring some inspiration, and Jilly from Philly comes on. Now I had to check the archives and make sure I didn’t write on this before…cuz this is my SONG!  But the lyrics just mean more today. That despite our bad attitudes, and all the other things that men like to point out are “WRONG” with us womenfolk. we still need you…and face it–you need us too! peep the lyrics.

I can pay my own light bill baby
Pump my own gas in my own car
I can buy my own shoe collection
I’ve been blessed thus far
I can kill the spider above my bed
Although it’s hard because I’m scared
I can even stain and polyurethane
But some things just don’t change
I need you yeah
Sometimes so hard to say oh
I need you
Some things remain
I could buy my own groceries baby
Get my hair tight, my nails right
I can floss my own bling bling
Write the words to the songs I sing
I can even raise the child we’ll make
Make sure he’s loved and knows what God gave us
I can teach him how to walk and stand
But he needs you to help him be a man
We need you
So hard to say
We need you
Some things don’t change
I could be congresswoman
Or a garbage woman or
Police officer, or a carpenter
I could be a doctor and a lawyer and a mother and a good girl
God what you’ve done to me
Kind of lover I could be
I could be a computer analyst, the Queen with the nappy hair raising her fist
Or I could be much more and a myriad of this
Hot as the summer, sweet as the first kiss
And even though I can do all these things
I need you
And even though I can do all these things
We need you
We need you
We need you
And even though I can do all these things by my damn self
I need you
I do, I do, I do, I do
And even though I can do all these things
I need you
We need you
We do
We need you yeah
We need you

Sometimes I wish men would stop knocking us for our inconsistencies, and our “problems” and realize that we  DO need them–so they should act like the honorable men that women would want to need. #thatisall


9 responses to “The Fact Is…

  1. Crooky says:

    I’m saying…if I didn’t know better, I would think that black women were a MESS in a handbasket. But yes, the lyrics to this song ring so true, especially for me. I CAN do all things, but I don’t want to. There are some things that I need and want a man to do…unfortunately some of them are blinded to all based upon the actions of a few.

    Thanks for the post Reesie!!

  2. Ms. Minx says:

    TRUTH.COM!!!
    I don’t wanna go into a dissertation about how it makes my blood boil when I see a lotta negative tweets/blogs/op eds about “the black woman”. I always thought an important part of us growing up to be strong & independent also meant we had to know that its ok to lean on someone sometimes, and its ok to be leaned on as well.

    Great song, great post 🙂

  3. Tunde says:

    great post. 🙂

  4. *jumps up, waving church fan* Say that, Sister Reecie!! Say that!!!

  5. Tisha says:

    that’s good stuff, sissy.

    the world got us so messed up that we can’t admit that we NEED each other (insert the further destruction of the black family). yes, we (women) can take care of ourselves but i sometimes wanna tell people stop being so BASIC. that’s not what the need is about!

    but you can’t make people grow up. all i can do is just make certain that *my* man knows i need him, and that he can trust me with his need for me, too. it’s absolutely how we were designed. 🙂

    btw–this is my CUT! lol.

  6. Cryssy says:

    “My aura has been corrupted on what is all wrong with women–you”

    This right here is how I have been feeling lately as well. I just don’t understand why?!?!

    Anyway this song is the TRUTH – when she sings this LIVE she gives it the business… I like Crook and Jill said I CAN do it by myself but why should I have to?

    I also take NO issue with letting a MAN know I need him. Some people (not just women) are so concerned with appearing weak they are affriad to say “I NEED YOU”

  7. Streetztalk says:

    We pushed u over the edge lmaoooo

    Great post luva!

  8. MilanRouge says:

    How did I miss this one???? All I can say now is ‘Amen’! Great post.

  9. “Sometimes I wish men would stop knocking us for our inconsistencies, and our “problems” and realize that we DO need them–so they should act like the honorable men that women would want to need.”

    PREACH honey! You have no idea, how many times that exact thought goes through my mind.

Leave a Reply

