The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

For awhile we paid no mind…

on August 5, 2010

…to the past
we knew love would last
Ev’ry night somethin’ right
would invite us to begin the dance

Somethin’ happened along the way
what used to be happy was sad
Somethin’ happened along the way
and yesterday was all we had

AND OH!

after the love has gone
how could you lead me on?
and not let me stay around
Oh oh oh after the love has gone
what used to be right is wrong
Can love that’s lost be found?

this one is what Steve Harvey calls a “brown liquor song” LOL.  I call it a “Saturday morning, lets clean up house song” 🙂

For awhile to love each other with awe
we would ever need
love was strong, for so long
never knew that what was
wrong oh baby wasn’t right
We tried to find what we had
till sadness was all we shared
We were scared this affair would lead our love into
Somethin’ happened along the way…

this song. LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS SONG. it builds you up for the good part when you hear that “something happened along the way…”  then the “yesterday is all we had” PLUS,  instrumentation is phenomenal. This is MUSIC.

This post is inspired by watching VH1 Soul. They showed a video of the live version. I prefer the studio version. Interpretations: Celebrating the Music of Earth, Wind & Fire features really good cover of this song, by one of the baddest bands IN THE LAND, Mint Condition. click here for that version. I need yall to know Stokely sang that thang! yes he did…

and while we are on the Elements…why not share my absolute favorite song by them at the end? This version is by Musiq Soulchild on that same celebration CD–which was pretty excellent project, if you haven’t heard it in its entirety.

So what do you think about Earth Wind and Fire and the songs featured? Tell me your faves. Also, what did you think of the covers by Mint Condition and Musiq?


5 responses to “For awhile we paid no mind…

  1. Lisa says:

    Girl.
    You want to talk about somebody RAISED on The Elements? OMG. My whole childhood revolved around their albums. My mother used to sing “Shining Star” to me all the time, and “Sun Goddess” is my theme. Girl…LOVE them. LOVE LOVE LOVE them.

  2. anson1 says:

    I, too, love the Elements. To make a long post short, I’ll keep it about the ballads.Along with the two you posted, “Be Ever Wonderful”, “Imagination”, “Love’s Holiday”,”All About Love” etc. etc. And yes those are great covers by Musiq & Mint Condition. But I wouldn’t expect anything less.

  3. tisha says:

    Oh wow! This is some good music right’chere! I have weird favorites (but this does not surprise you by now, I’m sure, lol). One of my favorites is “In the Stone.” It’s just a feel good song, and I have great childhood memories associated with it. Plus, I love the horns.

    Another favorite is a more recent song–featuring Raphael Saddiq–called “Show Me the Way.” More pretty music, and pretty lyrics.

    Oh, annnnnd, last but not least–and this should have been first, I don’t know WHAT I was thinking–is “Cruisin'” on the “Get on the Bus” soundtrack. I bumps THAT like it just came out! They say…

    Melodies without a sound
    kissing you
    a million miles
    up off the ground
    is what
    you do

    Don’t need no one
    to rescue me
    ‘Cause you feel
    so good
    nothing sends me there
    the way
    that you could
    girl

    YASSSS! LOL The music and lyrics on that song are everything.

    EWF. Good stuff! 🙂

  4. Donald says:

    You already know I gets with the Elements…Fantasy, Can’t Hide Love, Love’s Holiday and Reasons. Yeah…my joints!

    Keep Your Head to the Sky was a banger too.

  5. MilaRouge says:

    I love me some EWF. This song is one of my favs. I can’t say that I’m super feeling the Musiq covers. I don’t think i’ve heard the Mint Condition covers.

Leave a Reply

