The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

It don’t take a rocket scientist…

on August 12, 2010

To know I love you…

And it don’t take a rocket scientist to know I need you
See if you believe that you and me can change the world someday
Then you’ll believe me when I say

I still love you
I still love you
I decided I still love you
I still love you

**it kinda irks my spirit  to intentionally title my post with don’t instead of doesn’t…but that theres the lyrics, lol**

revisiting this song, the thing that stands out to me the most is  in the chorus: “I DECIDED I still love you” because love is an action, and absolutely a decision…

I heard this song and on the random wanted to feature it for Throwback Thursday.

702 came on the scene back in the 90s with a feature on Subway’s puppy love anthem This Lil Game We Play. This song still gets regular rotation on my iPod because I am an 80s baby and a 90s teen and therefore its part of my youth’s soundtrack.

The group’s membership changed after that feature; losing a cousin and a sister, then adding a member– and 702 went from a quartet to a trio. The song above was featured was on their last studio album, Star. I can admit that I didn’t really get into this CD at all, despite this gem of a song with The Neptunes production. It was so simple and repetitive yes with the chorus but still absolutely a banger.

While I did not get into this CD, their debut No Doubt was a favorite. Peep some of my faves below:

Steelo is my favorite 702 song. How can you not love this song? and the Missy feature? Biv10 was the ish back then and I really loved all the various groups in the early to mid 90s especially because they included people in my age range. “ask Michael Jackson who’s bad? He say I am but the queen not drag…” my shat!

Get it Together, also from their debut is one of those songs I think every teenage girl played when she was “going thru it.” with a guy. its just one of those breakup songs…

and lastly, probably their most popular song, from their second release 702. Remix featuring Missy. I couldn’t tell you much else about this album either, as I never owned it.

This video had the look of many late 90s videos. Looking at it now, it reminds me of an Aaliyah vid. 702 were not playing with this song! A girls anthem before we had girls anthems, lol.  Always a good move. Sing with me: where my girls at, from the front to back. well is ya feeling that? put one hand up…


9 responses to “It don’t take a rocket scientist…

  1. I Still Love You still gets play on my iPod as well, and its on my Neptunes playlist. I never bought any of their albums but I liked most of their singles. Good choice for Throwback Thursday.

  2. I loved 702. I didn’t buy “No Doubt” but I did have their second album (I can’t seem to remember what it was called.)

    “Star” is on my iPod now and it has my two favorite 702 songs “I Still Love You” and “Places.” “Places” is my shat!! Sounds like it could have been a Janet Jackson song. Very sexy.

  3. Reecie says:

    the second album was just called 702. I am familiar with Star, I will have to check out Places. I’ve never heard that one…

  4. Cryssy says:

    I actually forgot about I Still Love You… Sis this song bangs so hard… That damn line “I decided I still ove you”

    Get it together is my other favorite….

    I don’t have any 702 on my ipod I need to fix that #pleaseandthankyou

  5. Caren Ware says:

    I still love all of these songs,they were definitely a good group with great music…Miss them!

  6. K. Rock says:

    I never had a 702 album but I still love you is a great song still today. I liked all their singles though. Especially Where my girls at. I remember in the video they were trying to hide the light-skinned girls pregnancy. We saw it though!!

  7. anson1 says:

    Good pick, Reecie! I’m sure I’m in the minority but I like & have all 3 of their albums. They’re not what I’d call classic, but they are all good. At least that’s how I feel. Keep ’em coming.

  8. Ms.Minx says:

    I have all the songs you mentioned in the post & I tweeted that a few days ago. I don’t have “places” on the Pod though I looooooooooveded 702. Where my girls at is prob my favorite, lol.
    Have you heard Teedra Moses’ version of “I Still Love You”? Also pretty good.

  9. Good choice. I revisit “I Still Love You” by 702 every so often. Timeless piece (I’d like to think it’s because of The Neptunes’ production).

    I’m checking out Teedra Moses’ version….and eh…it’s an acquired taste. Her lyrics are good (as always). Getting used to her melody.

Leave a Reply

