The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Growing Pains

on August 18, 2010

Its always awesome to me when I hear back to back songs that provide inspiration to blog. Today was one of those mornings. I also have one song in particular running through my head, its a sad song (yall know how I love my sad songs) and I really don’t want to speak that into existence so I’m holding that one close for the moment. So as I began thinking about what to write, what to share–and it came to me! Mary never lets me down.

from her 8th Studio album, Growing Pains, which features quite a few songs I enjoy–this one in particular spoke to me today

Some lyrics:

Life can be difficult.
No one promised that it would be…
(No one promised it would be sunshine all the time)
Sunshine all the time, easy.
Some pain is guaranteed.
But it ain’t impossible.
You can find the joy, you see.
Took me a while but I did finally.
Open your eyes and you will see I’m just like you…

Now obviously I’m not a celebrity, so certain aspects of the song don’t relate to me, but one thing that relates to us all is that we are all growing and progressing.

Just like you sometimes I get down.
Sometimes I just wanna cry.
Sometimes I get depressed.
And just like me, tryna be complete.
Just understand we’re all just a work in progress.

I thought the title of the song and album itself is fitting because I think at several stages in life we tend to go through growing pains. I can feel something big stirring and I know as I prepare myself for what’s next in my life there will be some sort of learning curve and probably some pains along with it. But I welcome the unknown and while I tend to have anxiety about certain things–mostly things I can’t control–I also feel at peace at knowing I am strong enough to handle whatever comes my way. Joy vs. happiness has been a recurring theme in my life this week, and I’m paying attention to that. If any of you are going through those growing pains also, know that we will make it through. Just felt like sharing…

now lets cue up “Just Fine” πŸ™‚

“…Keep your head up high
In yourself, believe in you, believe in me
Having a really good time, I’m not complaining
And I’m a still wear a smile if it raining…”

Happy Hump Day!


6 responses to “Growing Pains

  1. MilanRouge says:

    I love Growing Pains. That song gives me some uplift when I need it the most. I love when she says ‘We’re All A Work in Progress’. So sooooo true. Ppl have a lot to say about “happy Mary” but she has many songs that just get me THRU when I need some positivity. Just Fine is another great one. πŸ˜‰

  2. Tia says:

    I can truly relate to this blog post and I absolutely love that MJB album b/c it provides tons of encouragement. Recently, several of my friends have been going through and I am the person that most of them talk to. Normally, I am able to take on a rack of stuff and be the strong person for everyone, but lately, I have not been able to be the Tia that they would like me to be b/c I am also feeling the weights of life. As Mary sang…pain is guaranteed, it doesn’t always sunshine, but we must all remember that things come in seasons and it will pass over. Faith wavers, motivation fails, encouragement lacks, but we must move on in order to make things better. Rain comes and it pours, but joy is right around the corner. Growth brings about change and change (whether good or bad) enhances anxiety. As you said, I feel something big stirring and I know the blessing are around the corner for you, myself and my friends. As I prepare for the “new” I have been grounding myself in prayer and have also been listening to encouraging music as you have and I know that this too shall pass.

  3. tisha says:

    Look at my lil sisser all grown’ up! πŸ™‚

    You already know that I can relate. What I do like about Mary is her natural progression–’cause…that’s what life is. No station in life is permanent–we are ever-evolving. And, if we don’t get the lesson the first time, it will come back to us in a different package. That’s because God is not concerned with us being happy, or even comfortable. He’s equipping us–for the next spot, and overall to be with Him forever. We got some stuff we gotta work out down here!

    Joy, however, IS ours, and isn’t based on situation and circumstance by any means.

    I :heart: this post! πŸ™‚

  4. Ms.Minx says:

    Oh, this is *the awesome*! Who can’t relate, girl? I see the Right Rev. Reecie is ministering ON today, lol! I’m bookmarking this post to come back to and read for “those days”! πŸ™‚

  5. LaBakir says:

    Glad I read this post! Never heard the song, and it’s really good. Definitely speaks to how I feel at times. If I could just stay out of my head (overthinking) things would be a lot easier. I’m working on it though πŸ™‚

  6. max says:

    I’m in the slow class as usual; I’d never heard this song before. But I likes.

Leave a Reply

