The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

So Much I Wanna Show You…

on March 24, 2011

… I’ll take you high.

I’ve got something new for you
when it gets you wont know what to do
relax, let me move you
don’t resist it’s in the air
just one taste will take you there
let it flow right through you
I know your getting tired of the same ole thing
Imma break the rules gonna change the game
You’ll be screaming my name
and imma take you places you neva seen
you couldnt picture this in your wildest dreams
Don’t fear you’re here with me

YES. When John Legend’s first CD came out I was such a huge fan! This song is one of my favorites. It just “lifts” my spirits and puts me in this mellow yet cheerful mood like some other things. It doesn’t do too much. The song is sexual, but  not overtly so… JUST ENOUGH.

Once you take a hit of this
you won’t ever wanna quit
you’ll be so addicted
said I’ll have you spinning round and round
crazy, making freaky sounds
you won’t want to come down
And I’ll have you seeing things and hallucinating
even walking funny cuz ur legs are shaking
All night we’ll be blazin’

I’ll take you for a walk to the other side
we can get high and enjoy the ride…
Hold tight we’ll be alright…

I was an immediate fan of his voice and what I like so much about the Get Lifted CD is that it tells a story from beginning to end. The courtship, the cheating, the drama, the breakup…the story of a relationship.

I can’t say that I love any other John Legend CDs as much as this one. It came out when I was finishing up grad school and I spent a lot of time writing and writing and writing.  And listening to music. As a gift to myself the next winter, I purchased my iPod (approaching 6 years still going strong!) and I just remember playing the CD until it scratched, then uploading all the songs to my iTunes, only to continue to play over and over. Also, John Legend performed at the spring homecoming concert and seeing him perform the songs live just rejuvenated something in me. I was a hard core fan! Now there were quite a few songs I enjoyed on Once Again, but he lost me on Evolver.  So my fandom kinda died down and that’s that.

Anyway, Get Lifted holds a special place in my heart. Here a few more of my faves from the CD.

I had no idea there was a video for So High. Or maybe I forgot. But I always thought it was a beautiful song.

this song was played out ad nauseum. I actually haven’t listened to it in its entirety in YEARS before today. I mean it was just worn out soooooo much. but it really is a great song about real life love situations.

this song is grimey when you think about the lyrics, but y’all should know I love my sad songs and I love my grimey songs. lol “Hold up, I know you got a man but I’m tore up, and I don’t even care if he roll up with something to say, you better tell him he don’t want it with me, it’s alright…” These words aren’t even really believable coming from JL to me, but I dig it nonetheless.

ahh, the baby baby please song. and with Snoop on the track, it just works. After “Number One” where he pretty much said look, this is who I am he realized that wasn’t working for his girl so he hits her with the “I Can Change” but its like dude, you’re a manwhore. There aint no changing that. lol

and my favorite of all is probably the last song on the CD. “Live it Up.” I wrote about this one when in the beginning stages the blog which seems so long ago–reading about my situation in life then, but the sentiment remains. I do feel finally on my way, and I’m still living it up!

Are you a John Legend fan? Casual listener? What are you favorite songs? Do you agree that Get Lifted was his best CD?


9 responses to “So Much I Wanna Show You…

  1. Jubilance says:

    Out of all his albums, Get Lifted is by far my fave.

    I saw him in 07(?) at House of Blues in Orlando, he was on tour with Robin Thicke, and I really enjoyed his show. I think I prefer his live performance over just listening to his music.

  2. Tray says:

    I love John Legend. His voice is awesome, but his lyrics are a little suspect at times lol… i.e. is he talking about a woman??? lol. But hey will call it universal and making money.

    My favorite John Legend album is the live album before he blew up Solo Sessions Vol.1. I love the version of “She don’t have to Know” & “Motherless Child” I also dug Once Again especially “Again”, “Heaven Only Knows”, a few others I can’t recall…

  3. Robin says:

    Get Lifted was my favorite JL CD. In fact, the live CD that he did right before Get Lifted dropped (where I was introduced to the majority of the tracks that ended up on Get Lifted) was the absolute BEST!! I think that Tray and I are talking about the same CD. I have yet to see him in concert though…I heard he gives a good show.

  4. I don’t have any of his albums, but my sister used to play out So High and I grew to love it! We don’t sound too bad (my sis has the better voice), so we’d harmonize and sing along.

    I like John though. He had a single out that I’d catch on the radio every now in then…can’t remember the name of it though.

  5. I looooooove this album. One op of his velvety voice and incredible song writing, what made Get Lifted great was that it told a story. I love when songs are arranged in a chronological order. Also, it came out in the HEIGHT of my grimey days so “Alright” and “She Don’t Have to Know” were anthems of mine. Lol. Fun times.

    “Ordinary People” is my favorite love song because it depicts love and relationships in a real way. “This ain’t the honeymoon, way past the infatuation phase…” Whew Lawd.

    Great post!!

  6. Reecie says:

    ^^ This comment SBG, is why we are kindred spirits, bday twin! exactly ALL OF THAT!

  7. This definitely was his best album. His live performances are great. PDA was another one of my favorite songs off Once Again. Love his songwriting capabilities.

  8. Ms. Minx says:

    Refuge is my favorite. I blogged about it a loooooong time ago. I listened to this CD when I ws younger & more idealistic, I think, so the lyrics really struck a chord. I loved “I can change” a LOT, too. 😆 I know, sooooo opposite in terms of the lyrics, lol! Those 2, Live it Up & So High (didn’t like the vid, tho) were my faves on the album, although just barely. I rarely skipped a song on it while listening.
    I think my fandom for him ended here. Still love his voice, tho.

  9. Cryssy says:

    I am a huge fan.. his last cd didn’t do to me what the first two did but his voice is simply great! “Another Again” has to me in my top 5 fav of his…

    So we did it again
    Knowing we should quit it, but we simply won’t admit it again
    Oh it feels good, it’s so good, but I won’t do it again
    It’s so dramatic again
    After we go at it, we get mad then we go at it again
    Oh I love it, then I hate it, she’s my favorite again
    I’m wasting time
    I can’t help it she’s so fine
    Oh I like her style
    And I love the way she talks and I smile
    As much as we may try
    Can’t quite see eye to eye
    So in the meantime, I guess we say bye-bye

    (And again and again and again)
    Oh, and then, we do it again
    We do it again and we do it again
    Oh, and then, we do it again
    We want it again, and we want it again

    So we fake it again
    I think we’re gonna blow it, and we know it
    But she’s naked again
    We get wasted, then I taste it, then I waste it again
    I can’t invite her again
    ‘Cause she’ll go from a lover to a fighter
    And I’ll fight her again
    So it’s over, but I told her to come over again
    I’m wasting time
    But she’s always on my mind
    I can’t let her go
    Oh, she’s not the best, but she’s all that I know
    As much as we may try
    Can’t quite see eye to eye
    So in the meantime I guess we say bye-bye

    (And again and again and again)
    Oh, and then, we do it again
    We do it again and we do it again
    Oh, and then, we do it again
    We want it again, and we want it again

    So I’ve got a new friend
    I wish I could forget you
    But I miss you, wanna kiss you again
    She’s like you, but she’s not you, gotta find you again

    So we remember again
    The middle of December and I took you out to dinner again
    Oh I love her, it’s not over, just another again

    (And again and again and again)
    Oh, it’s another again-
    I love her, it’s another again…

Leave a Reply

