The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

I may be young in age…

on August 30, 2011

…But I know I’m in love
I don’t care what they say
They don’t know a thing about us
Cause you’ve got my back and I’ve got your trust
I’m not trying to see you without…

I can’t see me without you
I can’t see no you without me
That’s something
I can’t conceive
Cause there’s no me without you

this song came on as I stepped off the train to head my way home and I got filled up! filled up with that great extraordinary feeling  that comes with a song you can’t help but exude good memories, good vibes, just a GOOD MOOD! There are some songs that just DO IT for me, another I featured awhile back  includes “Stay” by Ne-Yo. no matter how I’m feeling in my present moment, it just makes me happy and hopeful and epitomizes what life is about—those joyful, fun moments.

Ain’t no you without me
And that’s for real baby
And ain’t no you without you
So what’s the deal baby
And I got five little fellas trying to talk to me (say what)
But see my mind is on you so it don’t matter to me

This lil rap verse by Missy was so “young” but I love it though. lol

This song featured I actually have mentioned on a throwback thursday post before with a few others. It deserves a solo post today because it actually is the song I designated as “our song” for myself and my high school boyfriend wayyyyyy long time ago. *giggle* Back then, I had Nicole’s debut CD Make it Hot on repeat. Released in 1998, she was one of the many protege’s of Missy Elliott which was enough for her to get a purchase from me–plus back then I was in BMG and Columbia House music club heaven. While this song was never a super popular single, it was one of my favorites immediately. *sigh*  The lyrics, however simple, still express some 13 years later a great sentiment.  I have listened to this song non stop since I’ve gotten home as I write this post. I LOVE THIS SONG! I have no idea if I ever even told my then bf if this was “our song” and as time has gone on, it doesn’t even so much remind me of the relationship, as it does my youth, my hopeless romantic spirit, and just happiness.

I can’t see, I can’t see, nobody but you and me… 

What about you: do you have a song that reminds you of  your “puppy” love? A song that no matter how you’re feeling, fills you up and takes you to that place?


9 responses to “I may be young in age…

  1. Ms. Minx says:

    I loved this song, too. Haven’t heard it for the longest time, though. My sis loved it, and listened to it so much around the house, I ended up loving it too 😆

    My “puppy love” song…well, I had a couple, but “Beauty” by Dru Hill ft Case is the one that sticks out. My bf used to sing that to me and put my name in there. We were so corny 😆 I still get a lil’ goofy grin anytime it comes on.

    Ah, when we were young and “in love”, huh? 🙂
    Nice post, boo!

  2. Jubilance says:

    What happened to Nicole Wray? She needs to come back!

    My high school love song was “I Wanna Love You” by Donnell Jones from that “Where I Wanna Be” album – that used to be the stuff! I need to pull that album out & take a listen & relive the memories…

  3. max says:

    I effing love this song…it doesn’t remind me of anyone but my baby sister, but I love it nonetheless.

  4. CHeeKZ Money says:

    LOVED NICOLE. EVEN WHEN SHE TRIED TO SIGN TO THE ROC.

    GREAT PICK AS ALWAYS, PLEASE PLEASE KEEP EM COMING.

    I LOVE HOW YOU THINK ABOUT MUSIC. ESP HOW YOU TRY TO EXPLAIN THE BEAUTY IN SIMPLE LYRICS. THE SENTIMENT, GREAT STUFF TRULY.

  5. I remember this song…and the video was such fun! Nicole Wray was a pretty good artist…wonder where she is now?

    Now as for my puppy love song? You really want me to think back to the 80s? Goodness!!

  6. I have a few puppy love joints. Tevin’s Can We Talk and I’m Ready are up there… actually…. the whole I’m Ready album reminds me of my 6th grade love. Damn… memories….

    For the girl I dated in 7th grade our song was Mariah’s “Always Be My Baby” from the Fantasy album. Remember the video where they went away to sleep away camp and then the two kids snuck out and went swimming and all that… that was us.

  7. Cryssy says:

    I have never heard this song… I am a Nicole Ray fan! Where is she now? I can’t recall any puppy love songs at the moment! I was into the REAL grown songs like “waiting on you” En-Vouge….

  8. Ms. Peaches says:

    Love this song! I couldn’t agree with you more on when songs do it for you bringing back all the good memories! We need to meet up dear it’s been too long!

  9. The0ne says:

    This defintely was a dope track!!

Leave a Reply

