The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

The world it seems so very small…

on September 10, 2009

’cause nothing even matters…at all…

See I don’t need no alcohol
Your love makes me feel ten feet tall
Without it I’d go through withdrawal
‘Cause nothing even matters at all…

so this song came on and I GOT HELLA SAD! D’angelo (804 stand up) and L-Boogie? shiiiiiiit. I miss these nigs! ugh. Why are they doing this to us…..my man was supposed to be releasing James River this year…so, whats good with that?

I don’t even know about anything with Lauryn, but I’d like to see her make a comeback a la Whitney Houston. I was listening to “Ready or Not” the other day and thinking she was sooooo dope. And The Miseducation was one of my favorites, ever in life.

anyway…here  are a couple bangers from my folk!

Tell Him–this is one of my spiritual secular songs. man these words! lawd I’m about to have church! “…See what we now know is nothing compared, to the love that was shown when our lives were spared, and tell him…tell him I need him, tell him I love him [tell him], and it’ll be alright”

Lady— looking like a Biggie video…love this video because its FAMILIAR to me…I know all the spots this was filmed–the old Westover theatre, Southside Plaza (aka da plaza for us SS folks)…

The Sweetest Thing–my favorite L-Boogie song, I think. LOL. “the sweetest thing I’ve ever known was like the kiss on the collarbone…”

Shit, Damn, Motherfucker–song is just crucial.

Ex-Factor–another crucial song. “loving you is like a battle, and we both end up with scars…” Forgot all about this video! she looked so pretty…I worshipped L in high school, and I thought about growing locs like hers…

Crusin’–great remake. love this.

Killing Me Softly–I know its Fugees, but damn if this didn’t go sooooo hard when it came out. ONE TIME! TWO TIME! I would sing the hell outta this song all loud and just KNEW that I sounded good. I just did the same as I typed this post, lol.  Lord, I miss the 90s like crazy.

Devil’s Pie–Belly is a movie I love to hate. the acting is TURRIBLE, but I love it! you know I effs with Nas and DMX so how could I not? this song of course always makes me think of the movie…

what are some of your faves from Lauryn and D’Angelo not mentioned? I didn’t mention all of my favorites because that wouldve been too long, but I’m curious…that duet is classic though, isn’t it?


8 responses to “The world it seems so very small…

  1. Cryssy says:

    Higher is my all time favorite DeAngelo song.
    “Cause you take me higher, than I ever, ever know, give me good feeling, like a king and queen on a thrown”

    Ex-Factor and Sweetest Thing – whew! Her voice on those song are filled with so much passion!

  2. Crooky says:

    Both Lauryn and D’Angelo are well missed and LONG overdue! That’s all I can really say without being redundant.

  3. streetz says:

    I miss L boogs too! smh. She wouldv e been hip hops Queens fareel!

  4. The Lioness says:

    I recently lost a good portion of my music collection in a tragic move that resulted in several broken cds. As I tried to build it back up, I had forgotten about all of these songs- which I absolutely love. I am going to have to stop through here more often 😉

  5. The Lioness says:

    And I’d like to throw in Brown Sugar and How Does It Feel- that one just puts me where I need to be.

  6. LVSXMusic says:

    I LOVE THESE TWO…Nothing Even Matters is actually on rotation on my blog right now…They’e both doing us dirty by withholding their vocal/creative/songwriting gifts from us…I love Water by Lauryn Hill of the unplugged joint and Brown Sugar and Untitled by D’Angelo too

  7. […] is one of my favorite Nas albums.  Watching this video just makes me miss L Boogie even more, but already posted about that. moving […]

  8. Melody says:

    I’m such a fan of both artists! I love Lady, Higher, Brown Sug…err, the WHOLE album!

    And Lauryn really sang her whole soul out on The Miseducation. Like, people need to STUDY those lyrics!

Leave a Reply

