The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Slow it Down…

on November 22, 2009

This is the title of one of my favorite Little Brother songs. When I heard Phonte’s  second verse I immediately had a “wow if that ain’t the truth” moment. Even though I am not a man, I could totally feel his POV and had actually been there myself–a time in my life when I didn’t want to be tied down, but wanted the convenience and comfort of having a guy around. I had been told a few times by the opposite sex in the past that I think or act “like a man” and at certain points of my life I probably did.

I’m no longer there, I totally embrace being a woman in my relationships, and if that includes being emo, then I’m cool with that because I’ve learned that I benefit more from putting my thoughts and feelings out there, than trying to run game. Game recognizes game, so I can point it out quickly as well. And I’m quick to call a dude on it too. Just not how I move these days. It’s pointless, no longer my style.

anyway here’s the verse:

Sometimes I think I’m from another world (preach)
When I’m trynna tell a woman just exactly where I stand, that (aight)
I want a girl, when I want a girl
And when I don’t want a girl, I want a girl who understands that
And that’s some hard shit to explain
To a woman that’s in love with you, it’s a pitiful thing
Until I had to figure
That I don’t wanna play around, but I don’t wanna settle down
And that’s a man’s dilemma, ’cause every man remembers
How his daddy and his uncles did it
‘Cause more than likely that’s the way they’re gonna do it
I know it sound fucked up and most wont admit it
But yo, I gotta face it ’cause I know I’m living through it
‘Cause when the party stops and niggaz get old
And the chain and the cars and the houses get sold, and that
Other side of the bed gets cold, you don’t wanna be alone
So girl I’m trynna hold you…

The entire song is fire though “…lady you should be…right here next to me, just come around, I’ll slow it down just for you…”



8 responses to “Slow it Down…

  1. Cryssy says:

    I don’t think I have heard this song before. But reading the lyrics it sounds like he was writing from my heart.

    I need to check this out!

    And Reecie I still find it hard to be emotional; it doesn’t agree with me!

  2. Crooky says:

    Don’t think I’ve heard this track before either, but I am definitely diggin’ the lyrics…especially since it sounds like one of the most recent episodes in my life.

  3. Tunde says:

    phonte is a very underrated lyricist. he drops a lot of knowledge in his songs. i’ve been where phonte is talking about. it’s hard when you want a woman but you don’t want to be WITH her. it’s selfish but you have to do what makes you happy.

  4. Love this song!! Phonte has a great way of telling men’s truths without sounding like a complete asshole. This verse and his verse on “Breakin My Heart” from Get Back are two of my fav “This is how men really think” verses of all time.

  5. Jubilance says:

    I’ve never heard this track from LB before, thanks for putting me on Reecie. I’m definitely digging the sentiment tho, I think at some point both men and women get like that – you want the conveniences/companionship of a relationship, but not all the crap and the work. I’m at that point, I thought I wanted a relationship but really I just wanted a dude to be around.

    Reecie, you should do a weekly thing where you post a song that not a lot of folks know about, I think that would be hot!

  6. Ms. Minx says:

    Awesome lyrics!
    Adding LB to my list of “stuff Reecie has put me onto#” list, lol

    I think my last r/ship was where I fully embraced the whole “being emo” thing. Yeah, I like it too 🙂 Its much better for my peace of mind…and karma :p!!

  7. Melody says:

    Oh this is one of the faves. Lyrics dope; beat dope and I love all of the LB-Darien Brockington collaborations.

  8. […] The lyrics are real and the entire CD very honest–authentic! so it works. That’s one of the things that made me fall in love with Phonte even in the LB days–the realness and honesty of his lyrics. […]

Leave a Reply

