The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

I can’t get up, don’t want to get up…

on January 24, 2011

because of love…

You complete me
Like air and water boy
I need thee
And when I’m in your arms I feel free
Fallen
My heads up in the clouds in love
I’m proud
To you say it loud
Like an accident it happened
Out of nowhere
It just happened
And I aint mad at all…

not much to say. always loved this song and I thought it was a good video. it makes me happy. Plus it features my boo Weebay from The Wire.

Mya had a few bangers since her debut single with Sisqo. She, like many is not the strongest singer, but with dancing skills she managed to gain pretty decent popularity in the 90s and early 2000s.

Here are a few videos of my faves by her:

just because it reminds me of high school, for real! and come on yall remember when Silkk the Shocker was popular with his horrible ass flow!

oh no I can’t let you get the best of me… THIS SONG!  just like every single song I’ve ever heard, this one has a memory attached.  lol and peep the Christina Milian cameo in the vid. and just when you thought the song couldn’t get any better, they made a remix with Hov! One of my favorite collabos by him too. His verse was so reckless.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

whatcha gonna do when you can’t say no and her feelings start to show, boy I really need to know? –I loved her dancing in this vid, even though the desert theme was a total rip of Janet’s “You Want This.”

from her last unreleased album Liberation, featuring  Lil Wayne was one of my faves…

all pretty much fluff music, but I like that from time to time.


11 responses to “I can’t get up, don’t want to get up…

  1. TiffNicky says:

    Good post…I love that song. I actually really liked Mya’s Mood Ring CD. I listen to it from time to time. Can’t say I’ve felt any of those feelings in a long time…but I’d like to. 🙂

  2. Cryssy says:

    the remix with Hov — my fav of her’s… Case of the ex speaks some REAL ish… I wasn’t really a HUGE Mya fan. Didn’t even know she did a song with Weezy

  3. K. Rock says:

    Love Fallen..mostly because I love that they sampled Runnin’ by Pharcyde and that is one of my fav songs.

    Mya definitely had some good days. I would love to see her comeback but I dont know if she can now.

    And yes, Silk was terrible. Lol! But we loved that No Limit stuff. We were too young to know any better.

  4. i used to love mya. she went to high school with my cousin and i used to see her around and didn’t think anything of her. i guess fame does have a way of making people look better. oh yea and she’s an alright singer lol

  5. Lamide says:

    I’ve never really felt Mya like that. I only ever listened to her “popular” songs, no album tracks, etc. Meh. Out of all the “no-singing” chicks, she’s one of my least favorites. She’s pretty though 😆

  6. anson1 says:

    All in all, a good post on Mya. One of my favorite singers from the late90s/early00s who I wish was still releasing music today. But I’m not sure why you didn’t go into detail as far as the album tracks, though. A lot of my favorite songs by Mya were songs that were straight album cuts. That’s not to knock the singles Mya released. I’m just saying in her case, the singles don’t tell the whole story.

  7. Reecie says:

    @Anson I never owned any of Mya’s cds actually. so the singles are all I know–outside of the unreleased joint Liberation that has “Lock You Down.” What older album cuts do you recommend? I’ve probably never heard them.

  8. I liked Mya!

    What ya’ll know about that joint by Silkk the Shocker ft. Mya…Somebody Like Me?!!! I had the single (remember when you could cop a single on CD for like 99cent)

    And “My Love Is Like Woah” is my shit too!!!

  9. streetztalk says:

    The Best of Me and the Remix were DOPE!

  10. anson1 says:

    Ok then. So you wouldn’t know about songs such as “If You Were Mine, Takin Me Over, Can’t Believe, Tears on My Pillow, After The Rain, etc. On the real, Mya’s cds were like that. You’d hear a song on the album & be like “Ok, why wasn’t this a single?” I wouldn’t be so quick to call them classic(even though Fear of Flying is in my eyes)but they’re all pretty good. I felt like I always got my money’s worth, for the most part.

  11. I loved Mya! And yes, that “Best of Me” remix was fire. I wanted a basketball jersey/dress after that video came out lmao. How did she not win on Dancing With The Stars Again?

Leave a comment