The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

You Got to Show Me…

on July 19, 2011

and mean the words you say
its not a game for me baby
its just not that way…

I’m only one woman baby
treat me like a lady
you gotta take the time to show me
that I’m your one and only
I’m only one woman baby
and I need a one woman man

check out those 90’s fashions! I used to be a HUGE Jade fan back in the day.

Jade to the Max was released in 1992, and went Platinum. I totally wore this CD out. My favorite songs were of course their hit “Don’t Walk Away” and also their cover of “Don’t Ask My Neighbor.”  Their debut single “I Wanna Love You” was also featured on the soundtrack to the movie Class Act–one of my personal 90s faves. You really couldn’t go wrong with a Kid N Play flick back then.

The early 90s were filled with girl groups, and Jade was one of many.  I think the lyrics of this song, are pretty straight forward and basically describing what most women want–a faithful man that’s ride or die. lol

The portion of the bridge highlighted at the beginning of the post stand out to me because I pretty much want  actions to align with your words. Being cognizant of one’s actions; how they treat you are better indicators of someone’s interest that just lip service. In my humble opinion, of course.

you never have to wonder if  I care
If you’re sharing the way I feel for love you know I’m real
I’m the kind of girl to dedicate my world
but you gotta give me all you got
I need it all every drop…

I don’t know about every drop, save some for Jesus and ya mama’nem too!

Now peep this track below from their second album which I assume in my mind is the anthem if the guy in question isn’t holding up his end of the bargain… Before “to the left to the left” and that other countdown, Jade were bringing it in a similar kick him out fashion.

were you fans of Jade? or were they a blip on the radar amongst all the other girl groups that didn’t go that far? 


8 responses to “You Got to Show Me…

  1. Jubilance says:

    I know ppl love Jade to this day, but I was never a fan. I just didn’t get the hype.

  2. TiffNicky says:

    I loved them! I didn’t know their first album went Platinum. That’s what’s up. I miss girl groups. I miss groups, in general. Nice post!

  3. K. Rock says:

    I did enjoy them. I didn’t have the album but I liked all their singles.

  4. nianaturally says:

    I liked Jade. I think a lot of people slept on them.
    I miss girl groups. I was just listening to SWV in the car, singing at the top of my lungs, “I get so weak in the knees, I can hardly speak…” Ahhh, the good ol’ days.

  5. CHeeKZ Money says:

    when discussing the great girl groups form back in the day and that new jack swing sound, I always always forget to mention Jade. I never really listened to any of their hits, while I know the name and the look, none of these songs are striking a bell. But I do love girl groups and I’m glad you put me on.

    I’m with NIA. Girl groups need to come back. That SWV Anything Old School mix with the Wu Tang Clan gets turned up all the way in the car along with my TLC greatest hits

  6. anson1 says:

    You already know whre I stand on this.

  7. lhardman1908 says:

    Hello, I’m me! OF COURSE I loved Jade. One Woman Man had a dope remix too.

    Sigh, give me back the 90s.

  8. DEBONAIRE v2.0 OLD-SKOOL MIX
    PLAY: http://bit.ly/p1CG38

    GET MORE OLD-SKOOL MIXES HERE: http://blackicemovementz.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

