The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Throwback Thursday: Guy Groups

on September 23, 2010

everyone know the 90s are my favorite era for music. hip hop and r&b specifically (my two favorite genres)

this morning I spent a little time revisiting the Greatest Hits from two guy groups and felt like sharing a couple of my favorites. The groups are Hi-Five and Tony! Toni! Tone’!

peep some throwbacks below–I included the videos for a good blast from the past:

What makes you think I would try to run a game on you
Just as sure as my name is D’wayne I’ll be there for you and I’ll…
Treat you just like a queen and give you fine things
And you’ll never have to worry about another in your place
Believe me when I say…

Whatever you want, Girl you know I can provide…
Whatever you need, Call six three two twenty-one three five…

this song this song this song! I think over the years it has grown to be my favorite by Hi-Five. Shout out to my Soror @PeachPowder for inspiring me to listen today, and essentially this post!

classic 90s music. just Feel Good jams.

this was my jam! whenever I think of Hi-Five this is the song I think of immediately for some reason.

“I was only 16, she was 25” cougar flow!  I would never! “I forgot about school, and went to her place instead” I just bet you did! lol

Anyway, just a couple of my faves from each…I know you all listened to the 3T’s and Hi-Five.

what were your faves? if you don’t have their greatest hits and you love 90’s r&b with that good new jack swing flavor, you should! great trips down memory lane…


8 responses to “Throwback Thursday: Guy Groups

  1. Toi says:

    I immediately start moving whenever I hear ‘Just Can’t Handle It’. It’s a song about blatant criminal-esque cradle robbery but I’on even care! Wooo! RIP Tony Thompson.

  2. MilanRouge says:

    I can’t even believe Tony Thompson passed! Gah! Loved all these. That Toni Tony Tone song was EVERYTHING. 632-2135…yasssssss! We had good music growing up. 😀

  3. max says:

    I was never a big fan of either of these groups (I’m not an R&B girl at all!) but I do love I Can’t Wait Another Minute…I forgot all about that song!

  4. K. Rock says:

    90’s music is still top in my book. I love both these groups. It’s funny that the 90’s was the only era that I really listened to male singers. I can’t seem to get into any now.

  5. Nattie Jean says:

    How do you have a ’90s male group post without Boyz II Men? *gasps* lmao!

    If you couldn’t tell, that is my absolute favorite group of all time. From the corny matching outfits, to the beautiful harmonies, these guys did their thang!!! I would play my tapes (yes, tapes) pretending they were singing me to sleep as a young girl lmao… “Please Don’t Go” “End of the Road” “Motown Philly” “Lovely” “50 Candles” are just the few that come to mind immediately, but I could go on and on. Man, I miss the ’90s… [looks for door-knocker earings]

  6. Reecie says:

    For the record its these two groups in particular based on what I was listening to! Lol

    My all time fave 90s group is Jodeci, which I have posted on before. Don’t try to call me out Nattie! Boyz to Men had hits too…

  7. Ms. Minx says:

    Yesss! I was def more a Boyz to Men fan, though, and I was crushing HARD on the cutest dude in 3T (damned if I remember his name now, though, lol) and Jodeci, pre-crack, were awesome…ahh, the good ol’ days 🙂
    Nice post, sissy!!

  8. D. Mitch says:

    #latepass Reecie, that 3T song was OFF the chains…it was always a fave on my list of theirs. Matter of fact, that still gets major bump on my playlists.

    That, Lay Your Head on my Pillow, and Slow Wine.

Leave a Reply

