The Soundtrack of My Life

the music that keeps me going…

Let the madness in the music get to you…

on May 20, 2011

Life ain’t so bad at all
If you live it off the wall…

I woke up this morning with this song in my head. I knew it was going to be a good day.

This has become a personal theme song in recent years. Well maybe the last year. I spent a lot of time being focused on my career and my path forward–which led to my relocation and while getting up on the learning curve, I found myself a tad bit stressed. I realized that for my well being when I leave work, I need to LEAVE work. I absolutely “leave that 9 to 5 up on the shelf”

And its the weekend approaching, so I figured this would be a good day to post some good ol MJ–to me he is the king of “enjoying yourself.” His music puts me in a mood and a place that makes me want to dance. The title of this post definitely is how I view my life. I let the madness in the music transform me. I allow it to make me laugh, make me think, and even cry.

I know I hadn’t blogged in over a month, and the last post was a Freaky Friday one. Those come to me easily, I have tons of songs stored up, but I wanted to come back with something different. The fact that this song popped in my head gave me the inspiration I needed.

Late last year I declared 2011 to be the year of friendships for me. I had spent a lot of time nurturing romantic relationships–so I thought and the after effects of such. I decided that instead of focusing on what no longer was, I would begin and continue to take more considerate care of what I have. So that was the underlying theme in my mind, but I kinda forgot all about that.  Well, I recently went on a retreat of sorts that rejuvenated the kinships with my sisters and I feel that almost 6 months into this year, its been a very good one. I subconsciously have maintained my purpose of the year, and am looking forward to the months remaining. We only have one life; be thoughtful in your actions and savor moments. This has been an amazing and transforming time in my life. I am so blessed. Just felt like sharing. MJ says…

You can shout out all you want to
‘Cause there ain’t no sin in folks all getting loud
If you take the chance and do it
Then there ain’t no one who’s gonna put you down
‘Cause we’re the party people night and day
Livin’ crazy that’s the only way…

So tonight gotta leave that nine to five up on the shelf
And just enjoy yourself
C’mon and groove, and let the madness in the music get to you
Life ain’t so bad at all
If you live it off the wall

And so does Reecie. have a good weekend. 🙂


11 responses to “Let the madness in the music get to you…

  1. *BBM Thumbs up*

    I just started to appreciate this song, within the last year or so. Glad to hear you are cultivating your friendships. Good stuff Reecie!

  2. CHeeKZ Money says:

    nice post.

    I got to admit, for someone who listen to MJ as much as I claim to. I do not spend enough time with this album. I am very much a Thiller, Bad kind of guy… just like I am an RN/Janet fan when it comes to his sister. But honestly, you just changed my mind with one post. That song felt incredible on a friday. Great post, great song. Hope everyone has a great weekend to go along with it.

    I’ve been checking everyday for a new post girl, keep em coming.

  3. Ms. Minx says:

    Yay, she’s baaaack!!! This song is a great one, and I’ve been trying to learn that lesson about LEAVING work theses past few months as well. I’m glad ’11 is a year of friendships for you, & I look forward to our relationship continuing to grow & all that other emo stuff 😆 Love ya!!

  4. N.I.A.naturally says:

    Very nice post, Reecie!

    This has been my theme song for the past 3 years. Even though I don’t always leave that 9 to 5 on the shelf, and just enjoy myself, I have tried to live out this mantra daily for my own well-being. Its easy to get caught up in the daily professional grind. Sometimes we have to remind ourselves to take it easy. Off the wall serves as a great reminder..

  5. gadget queen says:

    This song came on this weekend while i was driving! I actually dont have it in my library, but thats aboit to change in 4…3…2…

  6. BP says:

    How did I miss that you posted a week ago! I have been checking diligently for awhile and the one week I forget BAM! I digress

    Anyways, I am a huge MJ fan and I appreciate what you said about good friendships. They mean the world to me and I feel cultivate my life more than anything (besides my relationship with God). Great post!

  7. bleek gilliam says:

    late to the party, but better late than never(“but never late is better” i did that just for you lol you should know where its from). “off the wall” is a classic track and album, i’d say its MJ best work, even better that “Thriller”. Ppl always sleep on “off the wall” but i digress, great post!!

  8. Definitely Bringing Back Memories Of My Old 45’s..

    Yeah I Know I’m Old! [Almost 30 Son!]

  9. Reecie says:

    I am almost 30 as well so its safe to say you are in good company!!

  10. […] declared 2011 the “year of friendships” and I successfully actualized that goal. Last year I spent time nurturing and loving those close to […]

Leave a Reply

